Meet the candidates

School board forums set for next week

While 2017 doesn’t bring a presidential or mid-term election, there are still choices for Marshalltown residents to make in the next month.

The first of two public forums to meet Marshalltown School Board candidates Bea Niblock, Mike Miller, Karina Hernández, Laura Eilers and Ben Fletcher will be held 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Aug. 24 at Fisher Community Center.

That forum will be hosted by the Marshalltown Area Chamber of Commerce.

A second forum, this time hosted by the Marshalltown Education Association, is set to start 10 a.m. Aug. 26 and will also be held at Fisher Community Center.

Of the five candidates, Niblock, Miller and Fletcher are incumbents while Eilers and Hernández are challenegers.

All candidates except Fletcher are running for full four-year seats. Fletcher, who was selected to the board in October of 2016, is running unopposed for a two-year term. The seat will be up for election again in 2019 along with other seats on that cycle.

Election ready?

While district voters research the candidates, there are a few dates to keep in mind ahead of the Sept. 12 election.

According to the Marshall County elections department website, the voter pre-registration deadline for the school board election is 5 p.m. Sept. 1. Pre-registration can be completed in-person by eligible voters at the Marshall County Courthouse, 1 E. Main St., or can be mailed in by the same Sept. 1 deadline.

Voters who register after that deadline will be considered Election Day registrants.

Absentee ballots for the Sept. 12 election are expected to be available Aug. 22. Eligible, in-person absentee voters may vote at the courthouse during normal business hours through Sept. 11.

Written requests for absentee ballots can also be mailed in to the Marshall County Auditor and Recorder’s Office, and must be physically received by 5 p.m. Sept. 8.

During the election on Sept. 12, polls will be open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m in all precincts in the following community school districts: Marshalltown, East Marshall, West Marshall and Green Mountain-Garwin.

For more election information, call the auditor’s office at (641) 754-6323 or visit

Election information can also be found at the Iowa Secretary of State website.


Contact Adam Sodders at (641) 753-6611 or