School election approaching

Deadlines for pre-registration, absentee ballot requests come early in September

The Sept. 12 school election is fast approaching for voters in the Marshalltown, West Marshall, East Marshall and Green Mountain-Garwin community school districts, and there are some dates and deadlines to keep in mind ahead of the election.

Voter pre-registration is open for another week, with a 5 p.m. Sept. 1 deadline. Pre-registration can be done in-person at the Marshall County Auditor’s Office at 1 E. Main St or can be mailed to the office. Completed mail-in voter pre-registrations must be received at the auditor’s office by the Sept. 1 deadline to be valid.

After the pre-registration deadline, those who register to vote will be considered “Election Day registrants,” and, per state law, must provide a form of identity, such as a valid driver’s licensee, as well as proof of residence in their voting precinct.

Additionally, a registered voter who has recently changed addresses within the same county can change their listed voter registration address anytime before the election; the new address can also be added at the polling place on Election Day.

Absentee ballots for the Sept. 12 election are now available, and those wanting to vote absentee must request a ballot in writing. The request form is available at the county auditor’s office and on the website.

For more information on pre-registration, Election Day registration and absentee ballots, visit or call (641) 754-6302.

The candidates

The Marshalltown Community School District has a total of four seats up in this year’s election. Three of them are for four-year terms, while one is for a two-year term. A candidate forum is set for 10 a.m. Aug. 26 at Fisher Community Center, and will be hosted by The candidates are:

• Ben Fletcher (I) — two-year seat, unchallenged

• Laura Eilers

• Karina Hernández

• Mike Miller (I)

• Bea Niblock (I)

Voters in the West Marshall Community School District have four candidates running for three seats up for election, all of which are for four-year terms. Here are the candidates:

• April Coulter (I)

• Sue Goodman

• Jason Walker

• Hunter Wilkening

On the other side of the county, East Marshall Community School District has two seats open with only one declared candidate. Current board member Julie Schossow did not file for re-election:

• Craig Mommer (I) — District 4

• No candidate — District 1

• At Green Mountain-Garwin Community School District, there are two candidates running for two district seats and four candidates vying for two at-large spots:

• Dino Baldazo — at-large

• Patrick Cornwell (I) — at-large

• Ann Jackson (I) — at-large

• Randy Sienknecht — at-large

• Kyle Hall — District 1

• Nathan Holven — District 2

For information on where to vote, visit the Marshall County Auditor’s website at For those living in Tama County, visit under “Precinct Polling Locations.”


Contact Adam Sodders at (641) 753-6611 or