Know your polling place

Polls open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. today for city elections

The day has come to cast ballots for several city office seats in communities throughout Marshall County, and polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. today.

In Marshalltown, voters in the First Ward can cast a ballot at the Marshalltown Public Library, 105 W. Boone St. In the Second Ward, the polling place is the Iowa Veterans Home, 1301 Summit St.; Third Ward residents can vote at Fisher Community Center, 709 S. Center St. and Fourth Ward voters will vote at First Baptist Church, 700 E. Olive St.

Other cities will also have a chance to vote for city council members and mayoral candidates today:

In Albion, voters can cast their ballots at the Albion Fire Station, 100 S. Main St.; in Clemons, the school building at 306 Bevin St. will be the place to vote.

Ferguson voters will go to the Ferguson Bible Church at 395 2nd St., while the polling place in Gilman is Gilman City Hall, 128 N. Main St.

The Haverhill Community Building is that city’s polling place, and it’s located at 102 3rd Ave. Laurel City Hall at 102 N. Main St. will be the place to cast ballots in that community.

The LeGrand Community Building at 206 N. Vine St. and Liscomb Community Building at 114 Main St. will serve as those communities’ polling places.

The Melbourne Recreation Center at 613 Main St. will be that city’s polling place, and voters in Rhodes can go to the United Methodist Church at 324 N. Marietta St. to cast their ballots.

State Center City Hall at 118 E. Main St. and St. Anthony City Hall at 306 Main St., respectively, are those cities’ polling places.

To be eligible to vote, one must be at least 18 years old on Election Day, be a U.S. citizen and resident of Iowa, and must be registered to vote. For more information on registering in Iowa, visit

For sample ballots by ward or city in Marshall County, visit and click the link next to the city or ward polling place.


Contact Adam Sodders at (641) 753-6611 or