Homecoming dates to know

As MHS students finalize Homecoming plans with their dates, there are several dates on the calendar community members can look for as the big game approaches.

Next week

•Tuesday, Sept. 18: MHS seniors nominate seven candi

dates for Homecoming King and Homecoming Queen.

•Wednesday, Sept. 19: King and Queen candidates announced.

•Friday, Sept. 21: Homecoming Court pictures at Leonard Cole Field and Cat’s Carnival entries due in the afternoon.

•Sunday, Sept. 23: MHS Student Senate members hang locker signs and posters, paint sidewalk by MHS sports complex. Senior senate members paint driveways. Powder Buff and Powder Puff games at the MHS Roundhouse and Leonard Cole Field, respectively.

Homecoming week

•Monday, Sept. 24: Carnival preparation night 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at MHS cafeteria.

•Tuesday, Sept. 25: “Twin Day Tuesday” — All students will be able to vote for King and Queen.

•Wednesday, Sept. 26: “Denim Day” — Coronation rehearsal in the afternoon at MHS-Community Auditorium. Homecoming “mini parade” at frontage road of sports complex at 5:30 p.m. followed by Cat’s Carnival at 6 p.m. on the track.

•Thursday, Sept. 27: “Jersey Day” — Pep rally and royalty coronation, 7 p.m. at MHS-Community Auditorium.

•Friday, Sept. 28: “Spirit Day” — Homecoming pep assembly, 10 a.m. dismissal. Parents and Homecoming court candidates to be recognized ahead of 7 p.m. kickoff against Sioux City West.

•Saturday, Sept. 29: Student Senate to decorate dance floor in the morning. Homecoming photos run 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. and the dance runs 8 p.m. to 11 p.m.

Other info

Students can buy Homecoming tickets before school (8-8:30 a.m.), during lunch time or after school until 3:45 p.m. from Sept. 26-28. Tickets will be $10 per person or $15 per person with a student ID at the door the night of the dance.