Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Redhawks’ Hefty named all-district defensive MVP

November 16, 2011
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

North Tama junior Nolan Hefty took Defensive MVP honors on the all-Class A District 4 football teams.

Hefty led the Redhawks with 122 total tackles, 17 of which were for loss. He also had three fumble recoveries and two interceptions.

North Tama finished the season with a 9-2 record and the Redhawks' defensive scoring average of 6.9 points per game is second-best in Class A and No. 4 in Iowa. North Tama had five shutouts to start the season and recorded seven shutouts overall.

The Redhawks had six defensive players on the all-district first team in senior linebacker Nick Whannel (111 tackles), junior linebacker Clayton Blocker (42 tackles and two interceptions), senior lineman Blade Bradley (63 tackles), junior lineman Skyler Kvidera (55 tackles), junior defensive back Brent Billerbeck (31 tackles and two interceptions) and senior defensive back Jordan Mask (48 tackles).

North Tama's first team picks on offense were junior back Dalton Hulme (728 rushing yards and six TDs; 511 passing yards and three TDs), junior wide receiver Mitchell Boerm (30 receptions for 400 yards and four TDs), junior wide receiver Jacob Watson (16-208-2) and junior lineman Trey Keahna.

Zach Steffans, the quarterback for district champion Postville, was the Offensive MVP. Steffans had 11 touchdowns both rushing and passing. He finished with 1,019 passing yards and 397 rushing yards.

Fact Box

All-Class A District 4 Football Teams

Offensive MVP - Zach Steffens, Postville

Defensive MVP - Nolan Hefty, North Tama

Coaches of the Year - Mike Minkwu and Mike Green, Postville

First Team


Quarterback - Jake Hogan, Don Bosco, so.

Running back - Dalton Hulme, North Tama, jr.; Brent Barth, East Buchanan, sr.; Cody James, Postville, sr.

Wide receiver - Brandt Becker, Don Bosco, sr.; Mitchell Boerm, North Tama, jr.; Jacob Watson, North Tama, jr.; Austin Demuth, Don Bosco, sr.; Christian Lee, Central Elkader, sr.

Linemen - Alex Roger, Postville, sr.; Nate Kremer, Don Bosco, jr.; Joe Koehn, Valley Community, sr.; Neil Blair, Central Elkader, sr.; Trey Keahna, North Tama, jr.

Kicker - Abdeel Hernandez, Postville, sr.


Linemen - Brandon Imoehl, Postville, sr.; Andy Jacobson, Postville, sr.; Blade Bradley, North Tama, sr.; Charles Roberts, Central Elkader, sr.; Skyler Kvidera, North Tama, jr.

Linebackers - Dallas Imoehl, Postville, jr.; Mark Weber, Don Bosco, sr.; Brandon Beyer, East Buchanan, sr.; Nick Whannel, North Tama, sr.; Clayton Blocker, jr.

Defensive back - Riley Brockway, Postville, so.; Brent Billerbeck, North Tama, jr.; Jordan Mask, North Tama, sr.; Nick Wedo, Postville, sr.

Punter - Zach Steffans, Postville

Second Team


Quarterback - Jacob Wrage, North Tama, jr.

Running back - Alex Pfister, Postville, so.; Carson Barron, Don Bosco, sr.; Mike Burgin, Valley Community, jr.; Vincent Mossman, East Buchanan, jr.

Wide receiver - Justin Jacobs, North Tama, sr.; Ben Jacobs, Postville, sr.; Austin Kelly, Central Elkader, jr.; Damon Spencer, North Tama, jr.

Linemen - Andy Rusher, Central Elkader, sr.; Brian Seda, North Tama, sr.; Nick Conrad, Don Bosco, sr.; Trenton Plaht, Postville, jr.; Clay Amundson, Valley Community, sr.


Linemen - Tyler Nelson, North Tama, jr.; Chris Droullard, North Tama, jr.; Brett Bloes, Don Bosco, sr.; Jacob Roach, Postville, jr.; Spencer Spain, Valley Community, sr.

Linebacker - Tyler Backes, Don Bosco, jr.; Justin Kruckenberg, Postville, sr.; Joe Fangman, East Buchanan, jr.; Jake Phillips, Don Bosco, sr.; Dustin Serafin, North Tama, jr.

Defensive back - Josh Jacobs, Postville, so.; Dylon Rhoads, Don Bosco, jr.; Colton Stoddard, East Buchanan, jr.; Riley Sebastian, Valley Community, sr.

Honorable Mention

Central Elkader - Isaiah Hopp, Sam Hilgerson

Don Bosco - Adam Corkery, Josh VanNaha

East Buchanan - Evan Franck, James Hillman, Tyler Hoffman

Edgewood-Colesburg - Michael Kelchen, Grant Varner

North Tama - Justin Coshow, Tanner Swanger, Kyle Mesch

Postville - John Schutte, Greg Steva, Rey Mucia

Valley Community - Matt Imoehl, James Thompson, Garrett Burrack

Final District Standings

Postville, 6-0

North Tama, 5-1

Don Bosco, 4-2

Central Elkader, 3-3

Valley Community, 2-4

East Buchanan, 1-5

Edgewood-Colesburg, 0-6