Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

2A District 7 Offensive MVP honor goes to Ferch

November 18, 2011
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

West Marshall senior running back Dalton Ferch has been named the unanimous all-Class 2A District 7 Offensive MVP.

Ferch finished 2011 football season with 47 total touchdowns - 42 rushing, three receiving, one interception return and one punt return. He had 229 rushes for a Class 2A-best 2,219 yards (9.7 yards per attempt) and 42 scores. His 42 touchdowns also were tied for the most in Iowa, 16 more than the second-most in the class. Ferch was named to the all-district first team at running back and special teams.

On the offensive line, the Trojans' Michael Newton and Jack Christensen, both seniors, were unanimous picks. Senior lineman Dalton Kelley and senior quarterback Braydn Beals (1,399 passing yards, 11 TDs and seven rushing scores) were named to the first team offense.

West Marshall's first team selections on defense were senior lineman Dustin Aikin (unanimous with 101 total tackles and 14 tackles for loss), sophomore lineman Duncan Ferch (78 tackles, 10 tackles for loss and two interceptions), senior linebacker Tysen Streeter (89 tackles and 2 INTs), senior defensive back Tanner Stalzer (64 tackles) and senior utility Josh Bunn (64 tackles and 2 INTs).

Ken Winkler was the unanimous District Coach of the Year as the Trojans finished 12-1 overall and advanced to the semifinals of the state playoffs. Winkler registered his 300th career victory during the team's postseason run.

South Hardin's Dayton Balvanz was named to the all-district first team at both kicker and punter. The senior Balvanz was third in 2A in punting average at 41.1 yards per attempt. Senior offensive lineman Blake Richie and senior defensive lineman Andrew Stowe (94 tackles) represented the Tigers on the first team as well.

Linebacker Noah Pickard of North Polk finished the year with 122 tackles and seven sacks for Defensive MVP honors.