Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Wrage heads all-Iowa Star South picks

July 28, 2012
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

North Tama junior Jacob Wrage received all-Iowa Star Conference baseball accolades for the third year in a row after being named to the South Division first team in a vote conducted by the league's coaches.

The all-Iowa Star Elite squad was without area representation. North Tama, the South Division runners-up and eventual Class 1A state qualifiers, had four first-team selections. Wrage was named to the South squad as a pitcher, earning first-team honors for the second year in a row.

Wrage finished second in the Iowa Star in stolen bases (31) while ranking fifth in earned run average (2.40) as a pitcher.

Redhawk seniors Brian Seda (first base) and Justin Jacobs (utility), and junior Dalton Hulme (outfield) joined Wrage on the South first team.

Also gaining all-Iowa Star South honors for the first time were GMG seniors Kyle Barloon (catcher) and Brandon Lolwing (outfield), and Colo-NESCO junior Brandyn Niemeyer (infield).

North Tama junior infielder Clayton Blocker gained South Division second-team selection, along with GMG senior infielder Wade Barritt and sophomore outfielder Chad Plaehn, and Colo-NESCO senior outfielder Anthony Lawson and junior pitcher JT Adams.

Honorable mention distinction went to Colo-NESCO junior Tyler Guy, GMG junior Tanner Krier, and North Tama junior Brent Billerbeck.



I am looking for: