Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Blue Devils complete 1A three-peat

July 29, 2012
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

DES MOINES - Martensdale-St. Marys left-hander J.D. Nielsen tossed the fourth no-hitter in state finals history and the Blue Devils won the Class 1A baseball title for the third year in a row, edging top-ranked Mason City Newman 1-0 on Saturday at Principal Park.

The third-rated Blue Devils (40-5) notched the game's only run in the bottom of the first inning without the benefit of a hit, and then dodged Newman's best scoring chance by cutting down a safety squeeze on a bang-bang play at the plate in the fifth.

In the first, Trent Dooley walked with one out, stole second and moved to third on a wild pitch. Zeb Noel's groundout to second base brought in Dooley as the first and only run of the game.

Nielsen (8-3) had a perfect game going until he plunked Gabe Dunn with one out in the fifth. Joe Burgmeier then reached safely when his sacrifice bunt was misplayed by Nielsen, allowing Dunn to advance to third.

The next batter, Joey Verstegen, dropped down a safety squeeze bunt in front of the plate and Nielsen flipped to catcher Dakota Wenzel in time to prevent Dunn from scoring.

Nielsen finished with eight strikeouts, one walk and one hit batter in the first championship game no-hitter since 1992. Martensdale-St. Marys won its previous two titles with undefeated summer seasons.

Newman (35-5), which won the 2009 title, got three innings of no-hit ball from Phillip Lapointe (8-2) in a losing cause. He allowed only two singles, walked three and struck out four.

David Walker and Robert Walker had the only Blue Devil hits.


Dyersville Beckman 3, North Polk 1

Leadoff batter Robbie Anstoetter went 4-for-4 with two doubles, a triple and two RBIs as top-seeded Dyersville Beckman defeated North Polk 3-1 in the Class 2A championship game.

The three earned runs were the first allowed all season by North Polk pitcher Jacob Hadaway (10-1), who had surrendered only two unearned runs in 67 innings pitched prior to the title game. Hadaway struck out 11, walked two and hit a batter in the loss.

The third-ranked Comets struck first in the top of the first, scratching out a run after Sam Pickard led off the game with a single. He later scored on Zach Easter's sacrifice fly for a 1-0 North Polk lead.

Beckman tallied all three of its runs in the second, starting with Ian Ross' leadoff double. Two outs later, Michael Boeckenstedt's single plated Ross to tie the score. After Ty Troutman was hit by a pitch, Anstoetter laced a two-run triple for the second-ranked Blazers (38-7).

Adam Noethe (9-0) went 3 2/3 innings for the win, allowing three hits. Nate Steger went the final 3 1/3, allowing only two hits. The two combined to hold North Polk to one run or fewer for only the third time all summer, clinching the Blazers' first state title since 2000.

Anstoetter and Ross combined for six of Beckman's seven hits. Easter and Clay Cory both had two hits to pace North Polk, which was in the title game for the first time since 2006.


Dallas Center-Grimes 13, Decorah 0

The fourth time was the charm for DC-G.

Top-ranked Dallas Center-Grimes finished off the program's fourth trip to state with its first title, running away from Decorah for a 13-0 victory in the 3A title game.

Tyler Peyton (10-0) tossed a four-hit shutout and struck out 13 in the win, and he got 15 hits worth of support from the Mustang bats.

Jared Kramer went 3-for-4 with a double and three RBIs, while Peyton was 2-for-5 with a triple and three RBIs to lead Dallas Center-Grimes (36-2).


Ankeny 10, Fort Dodge 0, 6 innings

Matt Johnson tossed a two-hitter and the top-ranked Ankeny Hawks rocked Fort Dodge, 10-0 in six innings, for the team's first state title since 1992.

Johnson (7-1) struck out three, walked one and hit one but went the distance for the Hawks (43-2), who scored a combined 32 runs in three state tournament victories.

Tanner Buenting went 4-for-5 with two runs and two RBIs, Garrett Fort was 4-for-5 with a run and two RBIs, and Keaton McKinney was 2-for-4 with two doubles and three RBIs to highlight Ankeny's high-scoring offense.

Fort Dodge starter Tyler Vaughn (10-1) took the loss, lasting only three innings. Will Gormally and Isaac Lehman had the only hits for the Dodgers (36-8), who were searching for their first state title since the program's first trip to state in 1969.



I am looking for: