Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Rose makes most of postponement

South Hardin junior paces area individuals

October 16, 2012
By TYLER STRAND - T-R Sports Writer ( , Times-Republican

REINBECK - Looking forward to running in the rain, Tim Rose was a bit let down when the North Iowa Cedar League meet was postponed Saturday.

After Monday's performance, it's safe to say he got over it quickly.

Turning in a personal record time of 16 minutes, 10 seconds, Rose placed fourth overall leading the South Hardin boys' cross country team to a sixth-place finish (114) at the North Iowa Cedar League meet at Oak Leaf Country Club.

Article Photos

East Marshall’s Ben Terrones (455) and South Hardin’s Tim Rose (505) lead the chase pack early at the NICL meet at Oak Leaf Country Club in Reinbeck Monday. Rose finished fourth in a time of 16:10, while Terrones was sixth in 16:18.

Postponed because of soggy conditions and a chance of thunderstorms, runners were treated to perfect running conditions two days later and many responded with top-notch times leading up to state qualifying competition.

"I personally enjoy running in the rain, so I was a little disappointed that they didn't have (the meet) on Saturday," said Rose, who earned first-team NICL honors after garnering a second-team nod last year with a 14th place finish.

"You have to be ready to run in any weather when you're running cross country."

Fact Box

Team Standings - 1. Hudson 85, 2. Denver 93, 3. South Tama 97, 4. West Marshall 106, 5. Dike-New Hartford 114, 6. South Hardin 114, 7. East Marshall 154, 8. BCLUW 169, 9. Union 274, 10. Grundy Center 279, 11. Wapsie Valley 281, 12. Jesup 283

All-conference (top 7) - 1. Kyle Kehoe, DEN, 15:51; 2. John Crew, DNH, 15:52; 3. Jason Hawkins, HUD, 16:04, 4. Tim Rose, SH, 16:10; 5. Brady Ellenbecker, STC, 16:12; 6. Ben Terrones, EM, 16:18; 7. John Stanish, SH, 16:23

South Tama (97) - 5. Brady Ellenbecker, 16:12; 9. Robert Tyynismaa, 16:28; 23. Blake Keller, 17:06; 24. Surrell Youngbear, 17:07; 36. Luis Perez, 17:55

West Marshall (106) - 8. Nathan Bradley, 16:12; 16. Austin McCool, 16:51; 20. Cole White, 17:02; 29. Tanner Arnold, 17:25; 33. Hunter Wilkening, 17:41

South Hardin (114) - 4. Tim Rose, 16:10; 7. John Stanish, 16:23; 17. Levi Cook, 16:56; 40. Logan Roling, 18:09; 46. Micah Dorow, 18:20

East Marshall (154) - 6. Ben Terrones, 16:18; 13. Caleb Benzing, 16:41; 30. Rob Petrie, 17:26; 32. Drew Schossow, 17:29; 73. Nick Mommer, 20:53

BCLUW (169) - 11. Derek Coulter, 16:36; 15. Clark Jackley, 16:48; 39. Tanner Teske, 18:05; 45. Branden Storjohann, 18:19; 59. Isaiah Ralston, 19:15

Grundy Center (279) - 34. James Chungu, 17:46; 55. Tyler Harken, 18:51; 57. Espen Cleveland, 18:58; 61. Ian Alexia, 19:24; 72. Samuel McKendree, 20:27

Gladbrook-Reinbeck - 35. Tyler Bovy, 17:54

Placing 11th a year ago, John Stanish (7th, 16:23) joined Rose by claiming the final spot on the all-conference first team. Levi Cook (16:56) earned honorable mention in 17th.

"The top five boys ran well today. We beat some of the teams we lost to at Union so that was good to see," said South Hardin coach Mike Olson.

Class 1A No. 7 ranked Hudson claimed the team title with a score of 85, while No. 3 Denver (93), the defending NICL champ, held off South Tama (97) for second. The Cyclones' No. 12-ranked Kyle Kehoe (15:51), edged out Dike-New Hartford's No. 11 John Crew (15:52) for medalist honors.

Capturing all-conference recognition for the third year in a row, Nathan Bradley propelled West Marshall to fourth overall (106) claiming eighth in 16:25. The junior Trojan placed 13th a year ago and 20th for honorable mention in 2010. Austin McCool placed 16th (16:51), while Cole White (17:02) again earned honorable mention in the top-21 with a repeat finish at 20th.

Taking advantage of the prime racing conditions, Brady Ellenbecker repeated with first-team honors leading South Tama with a fifth-place performance (16:12) after taking fourth last year.

"I was glad it got postponed (Saturday). This weather, it doesn't get any better than this," said Ellenbecker.

The Trojans' Robert Tyynismaa attained all-conference second-team honors in the top-14 (9th, 16:28) after nabbing honorable mention with a 16th-place tally in 2011.

East Marshall's Ben Terrones grabbed sixth (16:18) to guide the Mustangs to seventh (154).

The first-team all-conference runner shares Rose's affinity for running through more adverse conditions, but couldn't complain with 60 degrees and partly cloudy.

"I was ready to run Saturday. I prefer cold and rainy," said Terrones. "Since it got moved, I was ready for anything. (Today was) perfect running weather."

East Marshall's Caleb Benzing (13th, 16:41) joined Terrones with second team honors.

"We still do not have our best team out there yet. We looked tired halfway through the course, but we finished real strong," said East Marshall coach Christian Grandgenett.

The No. 4 Wolverines placed fifth (114) in the field, trumping the Tigers via the sixth runner tiebreaker (41st - 64th).

Derek Coulter (11th, 16:36) and Clark Jackley (15th, 16:48) provided a strong 1-2 punch for No. 10 BCLUW, which grabbed eighth (169) overall after placing second four out of the last five seasons. Both Coulter and Jackley repeated on the all-conference team after finishing 15th and 18th respectively last season.

The team's frontrunner for the first time this season, James Chungu (34th) was locked in for Grundy Center, leading the squad to a 10th place finish (281).

"I was focused today," said Chungu.

Tyler Bovy led Gladbrook-Reinbeck in 35th, though the Rebels did not field enough runners for a team score.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck, Grundy Center and BCLUW join GMG, Meskwaki Settlement, North Tama and Colo-NESCO in the Class 1A state qualifier at Marshalltown Community College Thursday at 3:30 p.m.

East Marshall, South Hardin and West Marshall will compete at the Class 2A state qualifier at the Iowa State Cross Country Course Thursday at 4 p.m. in Ames.



I am looking for: