Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Meyers gains NICL West volleyball’s top honor

October 16, 2012
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

The NICL West Division's Most Outstanding Player honor is back in Grundy Center for the fourth year in a row.

Senior middle hitter Sam Meyers secured her fourth all-NICL West first-team all-conference selection and the league's top honor to go with it.

Meyers finished atop the conference with 402 kills with an average of 4.84 per set and a .456 efficiency, and also was sixth in digs for Class 1A's top-ranked Spartans. Grundy Center won the conference title for the fourth year in a row, running its NICL West win streak to 26 matches and 67 sets.

Meyers was joined on the first-team by a pair of fellow Spartans in senior setter Heather Hook and sophomore libero Riley Sents. Hook was a second-team pick as a freshman and a first-teamer since, while Sents was a second-team selection last fall.

Hook tops the NICL West with 9.19 assists per set and also ranks sixth with 60 total blocks. Sents leads the way in digs per set with 7.43.

The only other returning first-teamer is South Tama's senior middle hitter Jade Rohach, who ranks fourth in the NICL West with 2.26 kills per set.

Fact Box

All-NICL West Division Volleyball

Most Outstanding Player - Sam Meyers, Grundy Center

Coach of the Year - Darwin Sents, Grundy Center


Sam Meyers, sr., MH, Grundy Center

Heather Hook, sr., S, Grundy Center

Riley Sents, so., L, Grundy Center

Alarie Craven, jr., S, West Marshall

Whitney Benson, sr., MH, West Marshall

Jayne Wiarda, sr., S, AGWSR

Jade Rohach, sr., MH, South Tama

Kayla Prosser, jr., S, South Hardin


Riley Ackerman, sr., OH, Grundy Center

McKenna Hotopp, sr., OH, West Marshall

Ella Frazier, sr., OH, AGWSR

Samantha Holtz, jr., MH, South Tama

Ellen Swartz, jr., OH, South Hardin

Reeba Box, sr., MH, BCLUW

Shelton Hatch, so., MH, G'brook-R'beck

Erin Wentzien, sr., L, G'brook-R'beck

Claire Johnson, jr., MH, East Marshall


Noel Saak, so., Grundy Center; Kelsiann Halbloom, sr., West Marshall; Shelbi Nederhoff, sr., AGWSR; Shelby Bradley, sr., South Tama; Alaina Lake, jr., South Hardin; Kendall Scurr, jr., BCLUW; Hayley Weber, fr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Katie Roseland, sr., East Marshall.

Kayla Prosser, South Hardin's junior setter, was promoted to the first team after being a second-team choice her first two years.

West Marshall's senior middle hitter Whitney Benson and junior setter Alarie Craven, and AGWSR senior setter Jayne Wiarda round out the first team with their first all-NICL West honors.



I am looking for: