Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Shorthanded Bobcat boys take third at Newton Invite

September 25, 2013
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

NEWTON - Despite missing a couple of varsity runners, the Marshalltown boys cross country team still managed a third-place finish Tuesday at the Newton Invitational at Westwood Golf Course.

The Bobcats got strong performances from the bottom of their lineup and grabbed five finishes in the top 24 positions to score 97 points on the day.

Grinnell won the team title with 38 points as all seven Tiger runners were in the top 20 positions. Oskaloosa came in second with 53 points, taking the first two spots as well as four more in the top 21.

"We were missing a couple of runners tonight, but the other guys stepped up to a third place finish," Marshalltown coach Chad Pietig said. "The guys gave a good effort tonight."

The top finisher from the area was West Marshall's Nathan Bradley, who took sixth overall in a time of 17 minutes, 26 seconds. His teammate Austin Grimm was 13th overall as the Trojans were sixth as a team with 143 points.

Marshalltown's top runner was Nate Phillips in 11th position. He hit the line in 18:32, while Jacob Shirar was 17th in 18:49 and Hunter Barnard, Alex Mason and Angel Pizano came in consecutively at 22nd, 23rd and 24th, respectively. Andrew Potter and Jose Palmerez also ran and came across in 40th and 41st, respectively.

Fact Box

Team Standings - 1. Grinnell 38, 2. Oskaloosa 53, 3. Marshalltown 97, 4. Newton 107, 5. Knoxville 131, 6. West Marshall 143, 7. Des Moines Christian 148.

Individual (top 10) - 1. Skylar DeJong, Oskaloosa, 16:31; 2. Spencer DeJong, Oskaloosa, 16:42; 3. Mason Doty, Grinnell, 16:49; 4. Isaac McFee, Grinnell, 17:12; 5. Christian Laube, Newton, 17:14; 6. Nathan Bradley, West Marshall, 17:26; 7. Eric Fluegge, Des Moines Christian, 17:59; 8. Iwan Rousch, Newton, 18:02; 9. Joel Baumann, Grinnell, 18:08; 10. Jacob Staroska, Grinnell, 18:25.

MARSHALLTOWN (97) - 11. Nate Phillips 18:32, 17. Jacob Shirar 18:49, 22. Hunter Barnard 18:58, 23. Alex Mason 19:00, 24. Angel Pizano 19:06, 40. Andrew Potter 20:09, 41. Jose Palmerez 20:19.

WEST MARSHALL (143) - 6. Nathan Bradley 17:26, 13. Austin Grimm 18:41, 46. Cooper White 21:27, 47. Joel Phelps 21:40, 49. Sam Edler 22:11, 50. Reggie Gradwell 22:39.

Grimm hit the line in 18:41 for West Marshall. Cooper White and Joel Phelps came in 46th and 47th, while Sam Edler and Reggie Gradwell crossed in 49th and 50th, respectively.

West Marshall next runs at the PCM Invite at Gateway Golf Course in Monroe at 4:30 p.m. Thursday. Marshalltown returns to the course Tuesday as the Bobcats head to the Iowa City West Invite. Action begins at 4:30 p.m.



I am looking for: