SPEEDWAY REPORT: Luellen brothers victorious again

With the radar looking questionable all day, it was doubtful that racing would happen Friday night, but Mother Nature cooperated and racing continued at the Marshalltown Speedway.

The first feature of the night was the Mod Lites 15-lapper. Travis Stensland jumped out to the early lead and continued to lead until the first caution came out on lap four for Steven Kennedy spinning in turn four. On the restart, Josh May and Tim Hennigar jumped to Stensland’s back bumper, and May moved to the front. The caution came out again on laps seven and nine, the latter when Stensland lost the handle and collected Jimmy May. Josh May led the remaining laps for the win over Tim Hennigar, Andy Hennigar, DJ Schmalzried and Dusty Masolini.

Mitchell Thomas led the first of 12 laps in the IMCA Hobby Stocks feature before Tyson Overton edged ahead on lap two. Austin Luellen made it a three-car battle on lap three, leading at the line and settling into the top spot on lap four. Luellen survived a pair of cautions for his eighth win of the season at Motown. Eric Stanton was second, Jamie Schirm worked his way back up to third, Calvin Dhondt was fourth in his first night out and John Watson took fifth.

After a caution forced a complete restart in the 18-lap Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods feature, Ryan Ashton took the lead from the pole postiton. Ashton lost the lead to Shawn Rittter on lap six, but Clint Luellen found the outside to his liking as he beat Ritter on the last lap to take the win. Ritter, Jenae Gustin, Adam Shelman and Ashton rounded out the top five.

The caution came out before a single circuit was completed in the 18-lap IMCA Stock Cars feature. On the restart it moved Dave Atcher to outside front row and he took full advantage by gaining the lead on lap one. The caution came out again when Robbie Merkle, Don Vis, Steve Meyer and Donavon Smith all got together in turn three. Atcher continued to lead despite several challenges from Michael Jaennette, but Damon Murty worked his way up and raced Atcher for the lead on lap six. Murty grabbed the lead on lap seven and began to pull away, taking the win over Atcher and Jaennette. Smith worked his way back up to finish fourth and Scooter Dulin was fifth.

The final feature of the night was the 20-lap IMCA Modifieds. Andrew Kinser led the first lap after Joel Bushore jumped the cushion in turns three and four. On lap two, Kinser, Bushore and Jake Strayer went three-wide for the lead. Strayer took the lead and pulled away, only to see the caution come out three times for debris. After the final caution, Racer Hulin grabbed the lead away on lap 13 and went on to take the win. Strayer was second, Ronn Lauritzen was third, Adam Larson fourth and Tyler Droste fifth.

Next Friday starts a busy two weeks at the Speedway as it will be Johnny Ray’s Sports Bar and Grille Night. Hot laps start at 7 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

On Aug. 27, the Speedway hosts the warriors of the United States Modified Touring Series and the Iron Man Challenge series for USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods. The North Third Ave. Dairy Queen Larry Wollam Season Championships are Aug. 29.

Friday’s Results

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 87 Joel Bushore – 9E Eric Elliott – 26J Joel Rust

Heat 2: 18J Jake Strayer – 92 Tyler Droste – 12 Andrew Kinser

Feature: 1. 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel); 2. 18J Jake Strayer (Newton); 3. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 4. 2L Adam Larson (Ankeny); 5. 92 Tyler Droste (Waterloo); 6. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 7. 87 Joel Bushore (Boone); 8. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 9. 64ZC Brandon Leeman (Roland); 10. 40RC Rod Clement (Rhodes); 11. 12X Trent Jackson (Marshalltown); 12. 9 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 13. 12 Andrew Kinser (State Center); 14. 2Z Zack Rawlins (Kellogg); 15. 17R Derek Reimer (St. Anthony); 16. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center)

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1: 93 Michael Jaennette – 99D Damon Murty – 04 Don Vis

Heat 2: 35 Doanvon Smith – 3W Jeff Wollam – 94 Steve Meyer

Feature: 1. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 2. 2 Dave Atcher (Marshalltown); 3. 93 Michael Jaennette (Marshalltown); 4. 35 Donavon Smith (Lake City); 5. 3 Sccooter Dulin (Cedar Rapids); 6. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 7. 54 Robbie Merkle (Des Moines); 8. 4JR Russell Damme Jr. (Waterloo); 9. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton); 10. 04 Don Vis (Marshalltown); 11. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); 12. 196 Chuck Davis (Conrad); 13. 89B Tim Fobian (Dike); 14. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center)

IMCA Northern SportMods

Heat 1: 7SR Shawn Ritter – 25 Travis Peterson – 198 Sam Wieben

Heat 2: 7R Ryan Asthon – 13T Taylor Musselman – 98 Bill Hildreth

Heat 3: 3L Clint Luellen – 82 Jake McBirnie – 72 Brett Lowry

Heat 4: 19J Jenae Gustin – 3S Adam Shelman – 57R Ryan King

Feature: 1. 3L Clint Luellen (Minburn); 2. 7SR Shawn Ritter (Keystone); 3. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown); 4. 3S Adam Shelman (Ames); 5. 80J Jared Van Deest (Holland); 6. 7R Ryan Ashton (Beaman); 7. 13T Taylor Musselman (Norwalk); 8. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 9. 82 Jake McBirnie (Boone); 10. 57R Ryan King (Montour); 11. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 12. 198 Sam Wieben (Dysart); 13. 98 Bill Hildreth (Marshalltown); 14. 321 Andy Tiernan (Woodward); 15. 80 Duane Van Deest (Grundy Center); 16. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad); 17. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 18. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 19. 6K Mike McNeal (Van Horne); 20. 75 Justin Medler (Minot, ND); 21. 25 Travis Peterson (Gladbrook); 22. 6T Siraj Thomason (Montezuma); 23. 7V Jesse VanDerWal (McCallsburg); 24. 16 Austin Schuring (Newton); 25. 55V Jared Vandewalle (LeGrand); 26. 406 Shawn Weatherly (Eldora); 27. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg)

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: 42T Tyson Overton – 7B Eric Stanton – 26 Brice Udelhoven

Heat 2: 14T Mitchell Thomas – 4X Gary Pfantz – 3A Austin Luellen

Feature: 1. 3A Austin Luellen (Minburn); 2. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 3. 56 Jamie Schirm (Dexter); 4. 20X Calvin Dhondt (Kellogg); 5. 4W John Watson (Des Moines); 6. 4X Gary Pfantz (State Center); 7. 19D Dustin Elliott (Marshalltown); 8. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 9. 14T Mitchell Thomas (Marshalltown); 10. 4P Matt Pohlman (Keystone); 11. 26 Brice Udelhoven (Newton); 12. 85M Dillon Million (Marshalltown); 13. 42T Tyson Overton (Carlisle); 14. 81M Travis Merical (Marshalltown); 15. 18D Kevin Deery (Boone); 16. 47W Shawn Wirtz (Boone); 17. T71 Marcus Kyle (Boone)

Mod Lites

Heat 1: 15 Andy Hennigar – 28 Terry Brown – 5J Jimmy May

Heat 2: 99 Josh May – 82 Charlie Brown – 57 Tim Hennigar

Feature: 1. 99 Josh May (DeSoto); 2. 57 Tim Hennigar (Clarion); 3. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 4. 01 DJ Schmalzried (Nevada); 5. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 6. 3G Joe Glick (Des Moines); 7. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 8. 95K Steven Kennedy (Boone); 9. 66F Eric Hendrickson (Ankeny); 10. 82 Charlie Brown (Nevada); 11. 12 Amber Coffman (Nevada); 12. 89 Travis Stensland (Nevada); 13. 5J Jimmy May (DeSoto); 14. 28 Terry Brown (Nevada); 15. 94 Dustin Marshall (Prairie City); 16. 17 Cory Sauerman (Grimes); 17. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona): 18. 46Z Bryan Zehm (Ames)