Whitehead claims first win on Scout Night

Friday night was a guessing game for track officials and drivers at Marshalltown Speedway. First mother nature was not sure if she wanted to ruin the night full of racing action and then the racing action was hot and heavy.

Winners on Scout Night and Old Timers Lounge Night included Jake Strayer (IMCA Modifieds), Donavon Smith (IMCA Stock Cars), Keegan Scott (IMCA Northern SportMods), Eric Stanton (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Jason Whitehead (Mod Lites). Outlaw Lawn Mowers also took to the speedway and that feature went to Jeff Benge.

Jason Whitehead used his outside front row starting spot to lead the field in the Mod Lites feature event. Whitehead cruised his way to his first ever career win. Terry Brown tried to chase him down but came home second. Josh May out dueled Travis Stensland for third and Cory Sauerman was fifth.

Travis Merical lead the first two laps of the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stock feature before slipping up enough to leave the door open for Tyson Overton to take the lead away. Overton appeared to be heading to the win until he left saw Eric Stanton power his way up to battle for the lead. Stanton took the lead away with two laps to go, and held on to take his second win of the season at Motown. Overton finished second, Eugene Nicklas was third, Dustin Elliott came from ninth to fourth and John Watson finished fifth.

After a pair of cautions before a lap was completed in the IMCA Northern SportMods 18 lap feature, it was time to click the laps off. Jayme Duinink wrestled the lead away from Dusty Masolini on the first lap and continued to lead until lap eight. On lap eight, it was Clint Luellen taking the top spot away and about the only thing slowing down Luellen was lap traffic. The final caution came out on lap 13 for debris in turn two resulting in Keegan Scott and Duinink on Luellen’s back bumper. Luellen held off Scott until lap 17 but it was Scott taking the lead away. Scott held off challenges from Luellen in the final set of turns to take the win. Duinink, Brandon Williams and Jared Van Deest rounded out the top five.

Matt Deaton would lead the Miller Lite IMCA Stock Cars feature through a series of race cautions. Donavon Smith worked his way from tenth to fourth by the time of the second caution on lap eight. Smith grabbed the lead away on lap ten and went on to take the win though cautions on lap 13 for debris and lap 16 when a handful of cars got together in turn four. Steve Meyer worked his way from ninth to second, Michael Jaennette was third. Andrew Lokenvitz came from 11th to fourth and Jared Daggett edged out Deaton for fifth.

Coors Light IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature was full of action packed two, three and sometimes four wide racing. Trent Jackson took the early lead and behind him, Kyle Brown and Jake Strayer battled it out for second. Strayer took second away and set his sights on taking the lead and by lap four he was out front leading. Strayer looked comfortable out front when the caution came out on lap seven and then again for a multiple car incident on lap eight that forced a red flag. Strayer paced the rest of the distance and held of several challenged from Jimmy Gustin to take the win. Adam Larson, Brian Irvine and Josh Gilman finished third to fifth respectively.

Final feature of the night was the Outlaw Lawn Mowers and only five of the eight made the call for the feature. Jeff Benge lead from start to finish to take the win over Mike Schumacher, Mike DeBruyn, Rich Wood and Rod Fridley. Rex Fitzgerald, Derik See and Bryan Fox was unable to make the call.

Next Friday night will be the start to the Memorial Day weekend as it will be Midwest Liquid Systems Night, a Salute to Military Night and the first of two Spectator Eliminators. Hot laps start at 6:50 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.