Storm score third at Central Springs

MANLY – Ryne Fuller won the heavyweight division and three South Hardin-BCLUW wrestlers posted second place finishes as the Storm went on to finish third with 163 team points at an invite hosted by Central Springs. The host team won the tournament with 248 points.

Fuller picked up pins over South Central Calhoun’s Keaton Hammen in 40 seconds, and Riceville’s Joey Gansen 12 seconds into the third period.

At 113 pounds, Ian Showers pinned SCC’s Michael Lyons with 16 seconds left in the first period, and pinned Central Springs’ Caileb Pate at 1:20 on his way to finishing second.

Ryland Duchane picked up pins in his final three bouts helping him finish second at 160 pounds. Duchane pinned SCC’s Ashten Halvorsen in 52 seconds, Mason City Newman’s Kameron Block in 1:06 and Riceville’s Cole Byrnes in 1:05.

Dylan Wenke pinned two opponents while finishing second at 182 pounds. Wenke pinned SCC’s Tanner Campbell in 2:18, and Newman’s Kaden Kratz in 2:39.

The Storm are back on the mat on Thursday in Reinbeck.

Mustangs take 2nd at Grinnell Duals

GRINNELL – The East Marshall/Green Mountain-Garwin wrestling team had two wrestlers go 4-0 as the Mustangs finished 3-1 for second place at the Grinnell Tiger Duals here Saturday.

Max Upah and Class 2A No. 9 Nick Meling picked up four wins, all by fall, to lead EM/GMG.

At 170 pounds, Upah pinned Grinnell’s Trent Miller in 3:13, ADM’s Kinnick Sutton in 3:30, Wilton’s Camerson Reddick in 1:35. Then at 182 pounds, Upah pinned Mount Pleasant’s Dalton Bass in 3:54.

At 120 pounds, Meling pinned Grinnell’s Vlad Dimit in 2:40, ADM’s John Throne in 2:41, Mount Pleasant’s Caleb Fluharty in 1:11 and Wilton’s Cory Anderson.

Noah Bandstra went 3-0 on the day. At 152 pounds, Bandstra picked up a major decision over Grinnell’s Bryson Cline, 9-1, pinned ADM’s Caleb Button in 3:45 and pinned Mount Pleasant’s Caleb Fluharty in 1:11.

Nick Long picked up two wins, one at 160 pounds and one at 170 pounds. At 170 pounds, Long pinned Mount Pleasant’s Levi Parkevich in 1:58, and pinned Wilton’s Eli Faison in 1:18 at 160.

EM/GMG wrestles at Wapsie Valley on Thursday.

Colo-NESCO collects fifth straight win

COLO – The Colo-NESCO boys’ basketball team downed West Marshall 72-34 Saturday afternoon.

The Royals (5-0) led 28-8 after the first quarter, and 48-18 at halftime.

Brady Stoeffler led Colo-NESCO with 24 points and six assists. Christian Reischauer scored 19 and pulled down eight rebounds. Garret Tiarks added 11 points and seven rebounds.

David Disney led West Marshall (0-7) with 13 points, eight rebounds, five assists and a steal. Cole Baccam had eight points for the Trojans. Garrett Nichols scored five and Beau Coberley, Nick McLaughlin, Eli Tremain and Logan Millizer had two points each.

The Trojans head to BCLUW to take on the Comets on Tuesday. Colo-NESCO travels Tuesday to Waterloo Christian.

Trojan girls rebound from first defeat

COLO – West Marshall handed Colo-NESCO its first loss of the season Saturday afternoon. The Class 3A No. 14 Trojans defeated the Royals 61-33.

Gabby Reyerson led West Marshall (4-1) with a double-double of 21 points and 11 rebounds, and also blocked five shots. Madie Streeter had 10 points. Isabelle Gradwell scored nine points and pulled down five rebounds. Shannon Breja added seven points and three steals. Brooke Snider scored six points and hauled in five rebounds. Emma Meyer scored six points.

Faith Vincent led the Royals (5-1) with nine points. Molly Barten added seven. Grace Stalzer contributed four points, six rebounds, two steals and two assists. Kassie Robinson had three points and 10 rebounds.

The Trojans head to BCLUW to take on the Comets on Tuesday. Colo-NESCO travels Tuesday to Waterloo Christian.

Bobcat frosh foil visiting Mason City

Wade Canaday racked up 22 points and 12 rebounds for a double-double to lead the Marshalltown freshman boys’ basketball team to a 57-43 victory over Mason City on Friday at Lenihan.

Bennett O’Hare made three 3-pointers on his way to nine points, while Dylan Eygabroad and Dru Dobbins both contributed nine points as well for MHS.

The Bobcats (2-3) are back on the court Tuesday for an ‘A’ game against Boone at Lenihan. The MHS freshman ‘B’ unit meets Indianola at 8 p.m. Monday at the Roundhouse.

MHS boys bowlers roll up Fort Dodge

FORT DODGE – The defending Class 3A state champion Marshalltown boys’ bowling team beat rival Fort Dodge in convincing fashion on Thursday at Ridgewood Lanes.

The Bobcats posted their season-high team score for the second match in a row, out-rolling the host Dodgers 3,318-2,445 behind sophomore Richie Thomas’ season-best series 222-287-509. Ray Wiegand rolled a 241-237-478, Jonathan McKeever came in with a 235-217-452, and Brandon Freese finished with a 192-256-448. Caleb Hala (385) edged out Zachariah Liskowiak (380) for the final counting score for the Bobcats, who averaged 209.2 pins per Baker game.

Seth Hanson led Fort Dodge with a 214-257-471 set.

On the girls’ side, reigning 2A state runner-up Fort Dodge fired a 2,473-1,873 victory over the Bobcats.

Marshalltown got season-high series from Haley Bell (267), Eliseya Wunschel (253), Shayla Beadle (248) and Toni McNutt (172). Karlie Potter led the ‘Cats with her 156-151-307 series.

Shelby Jacobson led Fort Dodge with a 209-163-372 series. Four of the five scoring Dodgers finished with series over 300.

MOBI now open for registration

The Marshalltown Noon Optimist Club is sponsoring two youth basketball tournaments for students in grades 5-8. The girls’ division of the Marshalltown Optimist Basketball Invitational (MOBI) will be played on Jan. 16, 2016, and the boys’ division is scheduled for Feb. 6, 2016.

Each team is guaranteed three games in pool play, and four teams in each grade will qualify for the championship round.

Cost per team is $150. Entry forms may be downloaded online at Tournament rules also can be found there. Coaches may also contact tournament chairman Larry Park at (641) 485-6134 or at with questions.

Deadline for entering the girls’ MOBI is Jan. 4, 2016, and the boys’ deadline is Jan. 25, 2016.