Speedway Report

Two drivers, Ricky Thornton, Jr. in the Modified division, and Jeff Wollam in Stock Cars, scored their first wins of the 2016 season at the Marshalltown Speedway on Friday night. Sam Wieben scored his second SportMod feature win, and Mike Morrill won for the second time in the Mod Lite class. The man who has been unstoppable in the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Eric Stanton, kept his perfect season going by winning for the sixth time in a row.

Thornton made his presence known in the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature. Thornton started 13th and grabbed the lead away from last week’s winner Eric Elliott at lap nine. From there on, Thornton took his ride to the top side and never looked back on his way to the checkers. Jake Murray finished second, and third went to Jimmy Gustin with a late charge. Kyle Brown finished fourth, and Ronn Lauritzen rounded out the top five.

Wollam returned to victory lane in the IMCA Stock Car division. Wollam, who had run in the top three all night long, made the last lap pass on the back stretch, slipping under Donovan Smith and beating him to the checkers for the win. Smith had to settle for the runner-up spot, third went to Tyler Pickett, fourth to Austin Evens, and Steve Meyer started finished fifth. Wollam had not won at Marshalltown since August of 2011.

Young Ethan Braaskma led the pack of IMCA Northern SportMods in their 18-lap feature through the first 11 laps. The caution at lap 11 was Braaksma’s nemesis and Sam Wieben’s good fortune. On the restart, Wieben got the jump on Braaksma and flew to the lead. Wieben held the top spot to the checkers and the win. Last week’s winner Jared VanDeest took second and Braaksma held third. It was a tight finish for fourth and fifth, with Cory Rose just beating out Travis Peterson.

Eric Stanton has been unstoppable in the IMCA Hobby Stock division and it was no different on Friday night. He took the win for the sixth-straight time, making for a perfect regular season. Gene Nicklas finished as the runner-up, third went to Dustin Graham, Gary Pfantz was fourth and Leah Wroten was fifth.

Mike Morrill led all 15 laps to made it back-to-back feature wins in the Mod Lite class. Josh May finished second over Randy Bryan, Joel Glick and Eric Turner.

Next up at the Marshalltown Speedway is the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models and the IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds on Tuesday.