Comets, Cougars lead NICL West honors

With a late season win against AGWSR, BCLUW officially claimed its first outright NICL West conference title since 2010 with an 11-1 division record.

The Comets were paced along by the NICL West player of the year Olivia Callaway, who hit .500 at the plate while maintaining a 0.49 ERA in the circle. Her counterpart, Samantha Ubben, earned first-team utility honors, pitching a 1.33 ERA in conference play and hitting for .289.

Both Jordyn Beeghly and Nicole Lutes joined their teammates on the first team at the first base and outfield positions, respectively. Beeghly hit for .447 as a junior and Lutes hit for .297 in her senior-year campaign.

Bobbi Amendt, Amanda Paxton and Maria Rasmusson all grabbed first-team, all-conference honors for East Marshall, which took third in the conference with an 8-4 division record.

Amendt hit for .381 this season, Paxton for .364 and Rasmusson for .426 for the Mustangs on their way to a 16-win season (16-15).

AGWSR tallied three first-team members behind Taryan Barrick, Abby Young and Alana Groninga. Barrick, a freshman this year, hit for .394 while posting a 1.46 ERA behind Callaway for the other pitcher selection. Young, a senior, nabbed the second baseman first-team selection by hitting .452 this year and Groninga was the first-team third baseman with a .463 batting average.

West Marshall’s two first-team honorees were catcher Georgia Porter and outfielder Grace Porter. Georgia posted a .536 batting average for the Trojans, who went on to finish fourth in the conference with a 7-5 record. Grace batted .417 for the Trojans.