ISU headed to 2018 Maui Invitational

LAHAINA, Hawaii – The 2018 Maui Invitational field will include eight NCAA Division I men’s basketball programs for the first time with host Chaminade moving to the opening round every other year.

Chaminade has hosted the tournament since its inception in 1984, but will now play in the opening round in alternating years, starting in 2018.

The 2018 field includes five-time Maui Invitational champion Duke and two-time champion Arizona. It also will include 2009 champion Gonzaga, Xavier, San Diego State, Auburn, Illinois and Iowa State.

This year’s tournament field includes North Carolina, UConn, Oregon, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Oklahoma State and Georgetown.

The 2018 appearance marks the second time the Cyclones take the floor in Maui, having last appeared in 1990. The Cyclones went 1-2, defeating Chaminade while falling to Syracuse and Santa Clara.

The 2018 Maui Invitational will be played Nov. 19-21 at Maui’s famed Lahaina Civic Center. All 12 Maui games will be telecast by ESPN networks, with the bracket being announced at a later date.