MHS downs Roughriders on the mat

DES MOINES — After a pin, three decisions and four forfeit wins, the Marshalltown wrestling team edged out a 39-34 win against Des Moines Roosevelt on Thursday night.

Despite losing by fall in 2 minutes, 44 seconds to start the night off, the Bobcats won their next four matches — two decision by Wyatt Demeyer at 138 pounds and by Brian Trowbridge at 160.

Demeyer earned a 4-3 win against Jacob Senna while Wyatt Himes and Reese Hageman both earned wins by forfeit. Trowbridge followed up the three-match win streak with an 8-6 decision against Matthew Jones.

Chayton French won at 182 with a 10-8 decision against Josh Hawkins, and Luis Ortiz grabbed a forfeit win at 285.

Hitting the top of the order, Zach Bitker earned a fall in 1:42 against Devante Condon to win at 106 pounds for Marshalltown’s final win of the night.

Marshalltown will compete in the Saydel tournament on Saturday, beginning at 9 a.m. at Saydel High School.

Marshalltown 39, Des Moines Roosevelt 34

132–Quincy Jones (DMR) pinned Jacob Bitker 2:44; 138–Wyatt Demeyer (MHS) dec. Jacob Senna 4-3; 145–Wyatt Himes (MHS) won by forfeit; 152–Reese Hageman (MHS) won by forfeit; 160–Brian Trowbridge (MHS) dec. Matthew Jones 8-6; 170–Justin Overmyer (DMR) pinned Decker Mann 2:59; 182–Chayton French (MHS) dec. Josh Hawkins 10-8; 195–Jordan Fox (MHS) won by forfeit; 220–Andrew Woock (DMR) pinned Andy Bitker 2:00; 285–Luis Ortiz (MHS) won by forfeit; 106–Zach Bitker (MHS) pinned Devante Condon 1:42; 113–Cade Pahl (DMR) pinned Jay Drummer 2:33; 120–Gary Clark (DMR) won by forfeit; 126–E.J. Gilge (DMR) major dec. Keygan Hansen 19-10.