Mustang trio, MHS’ Hageman win at ’Zuma

MONTEZUMA — East Marshall/GMG grabbed three first-place honors, two thirds and a fourth, scoring 110 points on its way to a team third-place finish at the Montezuma Invitational Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

Carson Burchland grabbed a win against Waukee JV’s Aiden Tallant, a pin in 41 seconds, for the 113-pound title. Burchland had a bye through the first round before pinning Jay Drummer of Marshalltown in 1:40.

Nick Meling pinned Josh Dunsbergen of Lynnville-Sully in 3:14 to win the 126-pound title. Meling earned a bye in the quarterfinals before defeating Marshalltown’s Keygan Hansen by fall in the semifinals.

At 170, Noah Bandstra pinned Bryson Barnett of Lynnville-Sully in 1:56, moving on to win 10-1 against Pella’s Jame Van Grop in the semifinals. An 8-7 decision against Pleasantville’s Cael Lester earned the 170 crown.

East Marshall/GMG’s Bryce Anderson took third on a 3-0 afternoon, as well as Dawson Riemenschneider at 285 and 138, respectively. Coel Nauman was fourth for the Mustangs at 182.

The Bobcats were sixth place out of 11 teams competing on Saturday, tallying 82.5 points on first, second, third and fourth-place individual matches.

Reese Hageman was Marshalltown’s lone victor of the afternoon, going 3-0 on his way to the 152 title. Hageman won by tech fall in the quarterfinals, fall in the semifinals and an eventual fall (2 minutes, 42 seconds) against BGM’s Dalton Roberts to win the weight class title.

Jordan Fox took second place, grabbing 18 points for the Bobcats in his 7-3 decision loss to Tri-County’s Clay Harper. Fox won by fall in both the quarter and semifinals.

Jay Drummer came out with a third-place win with a fall in 33 seconds against North Mahaska’s Joel Davis in the third-place consolation match. Drummer received a bye in the quarter finals before losing to East Marshall/GMG’s Burchland by fall in the semifinals of 113 pounds.

At 126 pounds, Keygan Hansen took home fourth with losses in the consolation semifinals and third-place bouts.

Hansen was on a bye in the quarterfinals before a win by fall against Aaron Slaughter of Lone Tree. Hansen won in a tiebreaker one, 22-17. Hansen lost to East Marshall/GMG’s Meling in a fall of 1:57, pushing him to the consolation round.

Storm go 4-1 to finish second at Gilbert Duals

GILBERT — The South Hardin-BCLUW wrestling team went 4-1 in their team contests at the Gilbert Duals on Saturday. Only Gilbert was better with a perfect 5-0 record, including wins against the Strom, 46-33 and AGWSR 60-18. The Cougars placed sixth.

The Storm fended off Southeast Valley (54-24), AGWSR (70-12), Belmond-Klemme (6017) and Iowa Falls (46-33) before falling to Gilbert in their final match.

AGWSR was unable to get a dual win, falling in all five of its battles. The Cougars lost to Belmond-Klemme 42-24, Iowa Falls 60-18 and Southeast Valley 39-18.

Iowa Falls was third, Southeast Valley Fourth and Belmond-Klemme fifth.

White leads Trojans at Mustang Invitational

GRIMES — Cooper White went 4-0 through his four matches and took first, while Hunter Pfantz was 3-1 and took second to help the West Marshall wrestling team to a 10th-place finish at the DC-G Mustang Invitational on Saturday.

White had a bye through the first round before tallying a win by fall, sudden victory-1 and 5-2 decision in his four matches Saturday.

White defeated DC-G’s Bryce Murano in a 5-2 decision for the 138-pound title.

Pfantz, too, received a bye through the first round before winning bay ball in the quarter finals and a 6-5 decision against Drew Kearney (DC-G) in the semifinals. Pfantz lost to Webster City’s Drake Doolittle in a 21-6 tech fall.

Two RebelHawks go 5-0 at Rockford Round Robin

ROCKFORD — Cael Wyatt and Peyton Willenbring each went 5-0 in their respective weight classes and earned 30 points apiece for the Gladbrook-Reinbeck/North Tama wrestling team at the Rockford Round Robin Tournament on Saturday.

GR/NT wrestlers were fifth overall with 149 points, while Newman Catholic won with 273 points.

Wyatt won by fall in four of his five matches, receiving a bye in the third round, and pinning North Polk’s Sully Hartsook in 2 minutes and 17 seconds for the 145 title.

Peyton Willenbring received a bye in the first two rounds before winning three-straight by fall on his way to the 220 title. Willenbring pinned Jackson Riesner (Hudson) in 1:28 for the win.

Zane Nelsen was second with two losses to Clayton Smith of Newman Catholic at 106 pounds, and Jace Petersen was also second place with four wins by fall against opponents. His one loss was to West Fork’s Jacob Hansen, a pin in 1:03.