Mustangs net first NICL West crown

Amendt medals, East Marshall tops Spartans

CONTRIBUTED PHOTO • Members of the East Marshall girls’ golf team pose with their NICL West conference championship medals after Monday’s meet at Wandering Creek Golf Course in Marshalltown. Pictured are (clockwise from front) Bobbi Amendt, Tiffany Thompson, Paula Dietzold, Jazzy Leavy, Tylyn Eicher and Amanda Paxton.

A little home-course advantage made a big difference.

The East Marshall girls’ golf team climbed from its season ranking of sixth in the North Iowa Cedar League’s West Division to unseat four-time defending champion Grundy Center for its first conference title on Monday at Wandering Creek Golf Course.

Mustang senior Bobbi Amendt captained the charge by claiming medalist honors after a sudden-death playoff that needed only one hole. Amendt defeated South Hardin’s Jaelyn Allen on the ninth hole to break a tie atop the field at 94, and East Marshall held off Grundy Center by four strokes, 410-414, for the win.

BCLUW topped South Hardin for third place, thanks to the fifth-score tiebreaker, after both teams totaled 421, and West Marshall edged Gladbrook-Reinbeck on the same criteria for fifth place when both teams tallied 429. AGWSR was seventh at 433.

Amendt was East Marshall’s only individual medalist, but the Mustangs had just enough balance to take its first crown. Amanda Paxton placed 10th — one spot outside of all-conference honors — with a 100. Tylyn Eicher’s 106 and Paula Dietzold’s 110 rounded out the team scoring.

Grundy Center was led by its seniors. Twins Abby and Sarah Hockemeyer both earned all-conference honors with respective rounds of 98 and 99, placing sixth and eighth, to lead the Spartans. Reagan Derrick shot a 108 and Lauren Dirks, a freshman, counted with her 109.

BCLUW, which entered the conference meet with the top scoring average, had a pair of all-conference honorees in Lauren Anderson (sixth, 98) and Madison Trinkle (eighth, 99). Katie Garber (111) and Bailey Ashton (113) completed the team scoring, and Briana Teckenburg’s 114 broke the tie with South Hardin for third place in the final standings.

South Hardin went 2-3 individually with Allen (94) and Hanna Vander Wilt (96), but slid to fourth. Ashley Heubner helped the Tigers with her 110, and Sybil Below’s 121 also contributed.

West Marshall was led by Brooke Snider’s round of 96, which was the third-best round but fourth on a cardback. Karissa Blocker (109), Rosey Dawley (111), and both Jenna Kifer and Whitney Edler (113) counted for the Trojans.

Sasha Nagle notched a fifth-place individual medal with her round of 97 to pace Gladbrook-Reinbeck, and Maddie Frischmeyer (101) was just outside the all-conference ranks.

AGWSR was led by Mandy Willems (102) and Sophie Stahl (104) in finishing seventh.

NICL West Division Meet

At Marshalltown

Wandering Creek Golf Course, par 72

(* — won on first hole of playoff)

Team Standings — 1. East Marshall 410, 2. Grundy Center 414, 3. BCLUW 421, 4. South Hardin 421, 5. West Marshall 429, 6. Gladbrook-Reinbeck 429, 7. AGWSR 433.

Individual (top 9) — 1. *Bobbi Amendt, EM, 94; 2. Jaelyn Allen, SH, 94; 3. Hanna Vander Wilt, SH, 96; 4. Brooke Snider, WM, 96; 5. Sasha Nagle, G-R, 97; 6. Sarah Hockemeyer, GC, 98; 7. Lauren Anderson, BCLUW, 98; 8. Abby Hockemeyer, GC, 99; 9. Madison Trinkle, BCLUW, 99.

EAST MARSHALL (410) — Amendt 94, Amanda Paxton 100, Tylyn Eicher 106, Paula Dietzold 110, Jazzy Leavy 113, Tiffany Thompson 119.

GRUNDY CENTER (414) — S. Hockemeyer 98, A. Hockemeyer 99, Reagan Derrick 108, Lauren Dirks 109, Frannie Brown 112, Lauren Buhrow 121.

BCLUW (421) — Anderson 98, Madison Trinkle 99, Katie Garber 111, Bailey Ashton 113, Briana Teckenburg 114, Mackenzie Trinkle 128.

SOUTH HARDIN (421) — Allen 94, Vander Wilt 96, Ashley Heubner 110, Sybil Below 121, Sammy May 127, Claire Brinkmeyer 127.

WEST MARSHALL (429) — Snider 96, Karissa Blocker 109, Rosey Dawley 111, Jenna Kifer 113, Whitney Edler 113, Jaden Hart 127.

GLADBROOK-REINBECK (429) — Nagle 97, Maddie Frischmeyer 101, Regan Skovgard 115, Hanna Sager 116.

AGWSR (433) — Mandy Willems 102, Sophie Stahl 104, Mollie Abkes 111, Clair McCready 116, Tori Brandt 130, Taylor Hartwig 139.