Hoeg heads Redhawks’ all-conference honorees

Results from the all-Iowa Star Conference teams selections are in, and four players from North Tama fill out the first team roster, with one Redhawk making his fifth appearance on the list.

Senior Cameron Hoeg was selected to the first team for the fourth time in his career, and he finishes his career with five total all-conference selections when you add his second-team nod from 2013. Hoeg had yet another great year batting for North Tama, with a .362 average, .467 on-base percentage and .702 slugging percentage in conference play. He also had a 3-2 record on the mound for the Redhawks against conference foes with 64 total strikeouts and 1.02 ERA.

Joining Hoeg for North Tama on the first team were seniors Will Earley, Joe Earley and Cael Kopriva.

This was Will’s second all-conference selection, as he earned a second team nod last season. Will was 6-0 as a starter for North Tama in Iowa Star play, striking out 51 batters in 37 1/3 innings of work.

Joe earns his third all-conference honor, adding to an honorable mention selection in both 2016 and 2015. He finished the year with 20 hits in 45 plate appearances, good for a .444 average and a .552 on-base percentage.

Kopriva joins Hoeg as a multi-time first-team honoree, adding to his first-team selection last season. Kopriva also received a second-team nod in both 2014 and 2015. He was solid behind the plate, starting all 15 conference games at catcher for North Tama. Kopriva also got it done with a bat in his hand, recording a .510 average and a .600 on-base percentage.

One other local prep earned first-team selection, as GMG senior Darrin Anderson was selected to his first all-conference team as a Wolverine. Anderson hit .407 in conference play with a .485 on-base percentage.

Junior Matthew Hill from Colo-NESCO and senior Aaron Fleming from GMG were selected to the second all-conference team.

Rounding out the selections were sophomore Cael Even from North Tama, junior Sean Cutler from Colo-NESCO and senior Andrew Thurston from GMG, who earned honorable mention recognition.