Redhawks’ Kopriva is Iowa Star Elite

T-R FILE PHOTO • North Tama sophomore right-side hitter Katie Kopriva, left, sends an attack over the net during the Redhawks’ Class 1A state volleyball tournament quarterfinal match against Springville on Nov. 8 at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids.

North Tama sophomore Katie Kopriva highlighted the area choices for the All-Iowa Star Conference volleyball selections, as she was just one of two players from the South Division to be named to the all-conference elite team.

Kopriva was the major offensive threat for a Redhawks team that made its first trip to state this season. She finished second in the conference in kills with 464, second only to Janesville’s Bree Thompson, and she was one of two unanimous choices to the elite team, along with Janesville’s Kennedy Meister.

Kopriva was also a unanimous selection to the South Division first team, along with teammate Karly Jans, while Takoa Kopriva was the third North Tama girls selected to the first team. This was the second-straight first-team selection for Katie, while Jans and Takoa were both second-team selections last year. Jans was the second-best attacker in the South Division with 325 kills, while Takoa led the entire conference in digs with 480. In fact, Kopriva’s 480 was the sixth-best mark in Class 1A.

Lydia Schafer and Isabel Sierra were both selected to the second team for the Redhawks, Schafer’s second all-conference selection after an honorable mention two years ago, and Carissa Calderwood earned an honorable mention.

North Tama wasn’t the only area team with selections, however, as Meskwaki junior Tori Lasley was also selected to the first team. Lasley led the the Iowa Star in total blocks and blocks per set, and she finished third in 1A as a whole with 102 blocks. This was Lasley’s second-straight all-conference selection, as she was an honorable mention last year.

Delicia Guevara was the only other Warrior to earn a spot, coming in with an honorable mention.

Colo-NESCO had two all-conference honorees, as Chelsea Henze made the second team and Rylie Reischauer was an honorable mention. Henze earned her second all-conference nod of her career after taking an honorable mention in her sophomore season.

GMG also had two selections, with Peyton Gallentine featured on the second team and Eve Gallentine earning an honorable mention.

All-Iowa Star Conference

Volleyball Teams

Elite Team

*Kennedy Meister Sr. Janesville

*Katie Kopriva So. North Tama

Bree Thompson Jr. Janesville

Kennedy Drewis Sr. Tripoli

Alisa Bengen Jr. Janesville

Brianda Bane Sr. Collins-Maxwell

McKayla Boeschen Sr. Dunkerton

South Division

First Team

*Katie Kopriva So. North Tama

*Karly Jans Jr. North Tama

*Jordynn Wesselink Sr. Baxter

*Brianda Bane Sr. Collins-Maxwell

Takoa Kopriva So. North Tama

Amber Weltha So. Baxter

Tori Lasley Jr. Meskwaki

Second Team

Lydia Schafer Sr. North Tama

Isabel Sierra So. North Tama

Sailor Hinegardner Sr. Baxter

Katie Camp Sr. Collins-Mawell

Chelsea Henze Sr. Colo-NESCO

Peyton Gallentine Sr. GMG

Mary Schabilion Sr. Baxter

Honorable Mention

Sydney Schmidt, Jr., Baxter; Kassidy State, Sr., Cal; Gracie Cheville, Jr., Collins-Maxwell; Rylie Reischauer, Sr., Colo-NESCO; Eve Gallentine, Sr., GMG; Carissa Calderwood, Jr., North Tama; Delicia Guevara, Sr., Meskwaki; Katelynn Panning, Sr., Valley Lutheran.