Trio of Bobcats named to football academic all-state

CONTRIBUTED PHOTO • Marshalltown High School senior football players Ryan Bohan, Sam Irwin and Decker Mann pose with their certificates from the Iowa Football Coaches Association signifying their selection to the Academic All-State Honor Roll.

In one of the final set of awards sent out for the 2017 football season, three players from Marshalltown were named to the Iowa Football Coaches Association Academic All State Honor Roll.

Sam Irwin, Decker Mann and Ryan Bohan all earned the honor for the Bobcats by meeting the requirements of being a senior football player, maintaining a cumulative grade-point average of 3.7 or better at the end of their junior year, being involved in extra-curricular activities and being nominated by their coach.

Other than the trio of MHS athletes, 12 other players from around the area were named to their respective teams.

In 8-Man football, Colo-NESCO earned two nods with Sean Cutler and Bryce Niemeyer each being selected. AGWSR also had two players on the 8-Man team in Sawyer Heitland and Liam Stubbe.

Grundy Center had three players on the Class A team, with Aaron Havens, Josh Kuiper and Cade Rohler making the squad. Walker Thede was also selected as the representative for Gladbrook-Reinbeck on the Class A team.

East Marshall also sent three boys to the 2A squad, with Eli Anderson, Tyler DeBondt and Zane Johnson all representing the Mustangs. Beau Coberley was named as West Marshall’s contribution to the 2A team as well.