Johnson gets 1K as Mustangs top Trojans

Zane Johnson

LE GRAND — East Marshall senior Zane Johnson became the school’s fifth 1,000-point scorer while helping the Mustangs finish off an unbeaten NICL West Division title with a 68-60 victory over West Marshall in Friday’s conference finale.

The Mustangs (19-0, 12-0), who had already locked up their first outright conference crown since 1993, finished off the program’s first title since 1996 with this victory. East Marshall had to rally to beat West Marshall on Jan. 5 in State Center, but the Mustangs never trailed in the second half of this one.

Johnson, who entered the game needing seven points to reach 1,000 for his career, eclipsed the scoring plateau thanks to a 3-pointer late in the first quarter. He finished with 19 points and now stands at 1,012 for his career. He also moved past 500 rebounds, becoming the fourth Mustang to achieve the feat.

Zaine Leedom led East Marshall with 21 points, getting a pair of dunks to go with six rebounds. Tyler DeBondt finished with 14 points and five assists, while starters Eli Anderson and Logan Nicholson rounded out the scoring with seven points apiece.

West Marshall (13-6, 9-3), which tied for second in the NICL West, made 12 3-pointers but only nine 2-point field goals the loss. Beau Coberley led the Trojans with 19 points.

Peyton Pope, like Coberley, made three 3-pointers, and finished with 15 points, while Alex Dickey had 12 points, Cameron Bannister had nine points and Joe Halverson added five.

East Marshall closes the regular season with a pair of home games next week, hosting Iowa Star Conference foes GMG on Monday and Colo-NESCO on Thursday.

West Marshall entertains Meskwaki on Monday before rounding out their regular-season slate Thursday at Dike-New Hartford.

NICL West Division

Final Standings

Conf. All


East Marshall 12 0 19 0

Gladbrook-Reinbeck 9 3 14 5

West Marshall 9 3 13 6

South Hardin 6 6 9 10

AGWSR 3 9 8 12

Grundy Center 2 10 2 16

BCLUW 1 11 3 16