SPORTS SHORTS: Norsemen close out Comets, 73-33

CONRAD — The BCLUW boys basketball team’s regular season came to an end on Friday against Roland-Story, with the Comets falling 73-33.

BCLUW (3-18) only had one player in double figures, with Jonny Neff turning in a 16-point performance in the season closer. Treye Teske was next with six points, while Jack Garber had five and Troy Dolphin led with seven rebounds against the Norsemen (8-14).

Local squad wins MOBI 7th-grade title

The Marshalltown Bobcats seventh-grade boys’ basketball team recently won its division of the 33rd annual Marshalltown Optimist Basketball Invitational (MOBI).

The Bobcats, coached by Rob Sandvick, defeated the SE Polk Rams Black team, 41-31, in the finals.

The sixth-grade Bobcats, coached by MHS graduate Jay Giannetto, went 3-1 in round-robin play. The Pella Pelicans won the sixth-grade division with a 4-0 record.

Former Bobcat Jeff Kelling coached the Ankeny Dream Team to the eighth-grade division championship.

A total of 17 teams from grades 5-8 played in the boys’ MOBI, which is sponsored by the Marshalltown Noon Optimist Club.

More information on the girls’ and boys’ MOBI events may be found at

Baseball America tabs Iowa’s Neustrom

IOWA CITY — University of Iowa junior Robert Neustrom earned his second Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year nod, earning the distinction from Baseball America as part of the publication’s Big Ten season preview.

Neustrom was also selected as Perfect Game’s Preseason Big Ten Player of the Year.

The outfielder from Sioux City started all 61 games as a sophomore, hitting .319 with nine home runs, 16 doubles, 55 RBIs and 41 runs scored. He ranked in the top 10 in five categories in helping the Hawkeyes win 39 games, a Big Ten Tournament title, and earn an NCAA Regional berth.

Neustrom was also tabbed as the second-best 2018 draft prospect behind Rutger’s Juwuan Harris. Iowa junior right-handed pitcher Brady Schanuel was named the league’s seventh-best draft prospect, and freshman Jack Dreyer was tabbed as the fifth-best freshman in the conference.

The Hawkeyes open the 2018 season Feb. 16 in Florida.

Speedway introduces new president

NEWTON — NASCAR says David Hyatt will replace Jimmy Small as the president of the Iowa Speedway.

NASCAR, which owns the short track located in Newton, Iowa, made the announcement on Thursday. It says Small has accepted a new position as a senior director of international business development. Small will work out of the organization’s Los Angeles office.

Hyatt has spent nearly 30 years in the motorsports industry. He launched the original and most recently served as the president of The Motor Racing Network.

Iowa hosted its first major race in 2007. The track will host two NASCAR Xfinity races, a Camping World truck event and an IndyCar race this summer.