Vincent earns all-Iowa Star elite team selection


The Iowa Star Conference recently announced its all-conference selections and Colo-NESCO junior Faith Vincent has been named to the all-conference elite team.

Vincent, one of two girls from the South Division to earn elite-team honors, finished the year averaging 14 points per game in conference play, the third-best mark in the Iowa Star. Her 140 total points in conference games were good for fourth in the Iowa Star, and her 21 made 3-pointers also slotter her in fourth. She finished top-five in the conference in steals in South Division games with 42, and her 47 assists were good for second.

Vincent also earned her third-straight South Division first-team honor, and joining her on the team is senior Molly Barten, earning her first ever all-conference selection. Both girls were unanimous first-team selections.

Barten finished third on the team in scoring with 13.4 points per divisional game, and she pulled down the fifth-most rebounds play with 89. She also finished fourth in the South with 13 blocks during divisional play.

GMG senior McKensie Vaske was also a unanimous first-team all-conference selection for the South Division, as she led the division with 15.2 points per game and 152 total points in divisional play. Vaske shot 43.2 percent from the floor during South Division games, and she finished sixth in steals with 36. This is the third all-conference team for Vaske, as she was a first-teamer last season and a second-team selection in 2016.

Rounding out the area’s all-conference South Division team was Meskwaki’s Jaylee Moore, earning the first-team honor in her first year playing at the high school level.

The Warriors’ freshman finished with 149 total points in South Division play, good for second on the year, and her 12.4 points per game slotted her in sixth place. Moore was also a force on the boards, hauling in 108 rebounds at a 9.0 boards per game clip, which was third-best in the division. She also finished third in blocks with 16 as her teammate Tori Lasley led the division with 33.

Colo-NESCO sophomore Rylee Purvis, Meskwaki sophomore Payton Tahahwah and GMG junior Kelsey Vaverka were all selected to the South Division second-team, while Royals senior Chelsea Henze, Wolverines junior Zoe Duncan, Warriors freshman Deandra Navarro and North Tama sophomore Takoa Kopriva were all given honorable mentions.