Bobcat boys golf bumped off by Waukee in opener

The Marshalltown boys’ golf team finished on the short side of the ledger for the first time since the fall of 2016 with Thursday’s season-opening loss to Waukee at the American Legion Memorial Golf Course.

The reigning Class 4A state champion Bobcats came away with their highest 18-hole team score since Sept. 30, 2015, in a 308-317 loss to Waukee. The Warriors’ Bennett Pedersen took meet medalist honors away from teammate Jack Starr and Marshalltown’s Cole Davis thanks to a cardback tiebreaker after each golfer shot a 6-over-par round of 76.

Davis, who shared runner-up honors at last October’s state meet at Elmwood, was awarded the silver medal in Thursday’s CIML Iowa Conference meet as well.

Lucas Schneider shot the next-best round for the Bobcats, carding a round of 79 that included a birdie. Grant Greazel and Mason Reid each finished in with an 81, sinking one birdie apiece. Davis’ runner-up round featured 13 pars, four bogeys and one double bogey.

All four scoring golfers for Waukee went lower than 80, with Pedersen and Starr leading the way. Michael Vicente shot a 77 and Griffin Parker posted a 79 to help the Warriors hand the Bobcats their first dual-meet loss since Sept. 8, 2016.

Marshalltown went 5-0 in dual meets a year ago and 4-1 in the fall of 2016.

“We lacked sharpness on the front nine and had spotted [Waukee] 11 strokes at the turn,” said MHS head coach Lucas Johnson. “It’s tough to make that up against a team with the depth and quality of Waukee.

“We’re glad we have a quick turnaround and have a chance to get after it again right away versus Southeast Polk.”

The Bobcats are back on the links today at 10 a.m. at the Legion hosting the Rams.

Waukee 308, Marshalltown 317

At Marshalltown

American Legion Memorial Golf Course, par 70

Medalist — Bennett Pedersen, WAU, 76; Runner-up — Cole Davis, MHS, 76.

WAUKEE (308) — Pedersen 76, Jack Starr 76, Michael Vicente 77, Griffin Parker 79, Charlie Andrews 81, Matthew O’Brien 81.

MARSHALLTOWN (317) — Davis 76, Lucas Schneider 79, Grant Greazel 81, Mason Reid 81, Colin Schmit 87, Brent Johnson 89.