Carton and Hilmer split IPSWA Mr. Basketball

DES MOINES — For the first time in 20 seasons, there were two boys selected as Mr. Basketball in Iowa.

Of 49 votes cast by sportswriters and coaches in attendance at the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association all-state meetings on Saturday, there was a tie vote for two Mr. Basketball candidates. Therefore, the IPSWA has named Bettendorf’s D.J. Carton and North Linn’s Jake Hilmer as co-Mr. Basketball.

Carton, an Ohio State signee, averaged 24.4 points, 7.6 rebounds and 6.1 assists per game for Bettendorf. The Bulldogs, ranked No. 1 in Class 4A by the Associated Press at the end of the regular season, finished the year 21-2 with losses to state runner-up Dubuque Senior and fourth place North Scott. He had a career-high 49 points in a regular-season win over Davenport West.

With more than 25 Division I offers, the 6-foot-2 point guard is a five-star prospect and ranks among the top 30 recruits in the country for the 2019 class. He has committed to play in the Iverson Classic this spring.

A three-year starter and a first team all-stater the past two seasons by the IPSWA, Carton scored a school-record 1,198 career points along with snagging 372 rebounds and dishing out 257 assists. The Bulldogs played in one state tournament and won 49 games in his three years.

Hilmer capped a four-year career by helping North Linn to the Class 2A state championship. The Lynx went 102-4 in his career, with a first-place state finish along with a second and a third.

Hilmer averaged 26.1 points per game (2nd in Class 2A), shooting 57.8 percent from the field this season. He also led the state with 263 assists.

In his career, the 5-foot-11 point guard headed to Upper Iowa University for basketball and football, set state records for most single-season assists and steals and career assists and steals. He is the only player in state history to surpass 2,000 career points (2,332) and 1,000 career assists (1,106).

It is the first time since 1999 that two players have shared Mr. Basketball honors. That year, Sioux City West’s Kirk Hinrich and Iowa Falls’ Nick Collison shared the title. Both went on to play for the University of Kansas and later in the NBA.

Iowa Print Sports Writers

Association All-State Boys

Basketball Teams



Andrew Gibb, Fort Dodge St. Edmond, sr.; Brennan Sefrit, Bedford, jr.; Codey Hicks, Janesville, sr.; Issa Samake, Grand View Christian, sr.; Nick Reid, Central City, jr.; TJ Schnurr, Algona Garrigan, sr.; Trey Shearer, Montezuma, so.; Zach Martinek, West Fork, sr.


Brady Happel, Dunkerton, sr.; Bryce Coppock, Newell-Fonda, jr.; Cole Burmeister, Exira-EHK, sr.; Hunter Decker, Sioux Central, sr.; Izic Mackey, Alburnett, sr.; Jackson Louscher, South O’Brien, jr.; Kaidion Larson, Prince of Peace, sr.; Nik Coble, WACO, jr.


Angelo Winkel, Algona-Garrigan, so.; Caleb Grizzle, Ankeny Christian, sr.; Hunter Rickels, Calamus-Wheatland, sr.; JD Stout, Keota, jr.; Jack Kelley, Don Bosco, sr.; Jared Gast, Council Bluffs St. Albert, sr.; Parker Hitt, Mormon Trail, sr.; Spencer Schorg, Remsen St. Mary’s, jr.



Beau De Jongh, Boyden-Hull, sr.; Ben Heeren, Ogden, sr.; Conner Hill, South Hamilton, sr.; Cooper DeJean, OABCIG, so.; Jace Davidson, Pocohantas, sr.; Jake Hilmer, North Linn, sr.; Masen Miller, Iowa City Regina, jr.; Ryan Schmitt, Van Meter, sr.


Andrew VanRyswyk, PCM, sr.; Avery Busta, Forest City, sr.; Cade Fuller, Dike-New Hartford, sr.; Caleb Delzell, Camanche, jr.; Carter Cuvelier, Aplington-Parkersburg, sr.; Hunter Dekkers, West Sioux, jr.; James Betz, Garner-Hatfield-Ventura, sr.; Keaton Mitchell, Wapello, sr.


Ben Wolgemuth, Mediapolis, sr.; Cam Soenksen, Camanche, jr.; Curran Ingram, Des Moines Christian, jr.; Haris Hoffman, Cascade, sr.; Justin Recker, Monticello, so.; Logan Peters, South Hamilton, sr.; Trey Hinote, Greene County, sr.; Zane Neubaum, South Central Calhoun, jr.



AJ Becker, Maquoketa, sr.; Bowen Born, Norwalk, jr.; Cole Henry, Oskaloosa, sr.; Collin Lister, Carlisle, sr.; Derek Krogmann, West Delaware, sr.; Jackson Molstead, Charles City, sr.; Owen Coburn, Spirit Lake, sr.; Xavier Foster, Oskaloosa, jr.


Alex Irwin, Le Mars, sr.; Christian Stanislav, Glenwood, sr.; Conner Groves, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, sr.; Drew Enke, Clear Lake, sr.; Dylan Peeters, Davenport Assumption, sr.; Easton Darling, Winterset, jr.; Goanar Biliew, Denison-Schleswig, jr.; Kylan Smallwood, Creston, sr.


Daniel Wright, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, jr.; Jacob Schockemoehl, Wahlert Catholic, jr.; Keaton Kutcher, Mount Vernon, so.; Kieren Nichols, Knoxville, so.; Logan Shetterly, Pella, jr.; Macklin Shanahan, Maquoketa, sr.; Nate Michels, Benton, sr.; Rian Yates, Oskaloosa, sr.



Aidan Vanderloo, Sioux City East, sr.; D.J. Carton, Bettendorf, sr.; Keegan Murray, Cedar Rapids Prairie, sr.; Logan Wolf, Cedar Falls, sr.; Noah Carter, Dubuque Senior, sr.; Patrick McCaffery, Iowa City West, sr.; Trey Hutcheson, Linn-Mar, sr.; Tyreke Locure, Des Moines North, sr.


Cliff McCray, Sioux City West, sr.; Dylan Jones, Waukee, sr.; Evan Gauger, Indianola, sr.; Keshawn Pegues, Davenport Central, sr.; Kris Murray, Cedar Rapids Prairie, sr.; Tamin Lipsey, Ames, fr.; Ty Anderson, North Scott, jr.; Tyrese Nickelson, Waterloo East, sr.


Cortaviaus Seales, North Scott, sr.; Jack Wetzel, Cedar Rapids Kennedy, jr.; Japannah Kellogg, Ames, sr.; Matt Stilwill, Dowling Catholic, jr.; Mick McCurry, Cedar Rapids Washington, sr.; Noah Hart, Waukee, sr.; Peyton Williams, Johnston, sr.; Trayvon Williams, West Des Moines Valley, sr.