Meskwaki’s Bear named to Iowa Star elite squad

Tate Bear

Meskwaki senior Táte Bear has been named a unanimous selection to the Iowa Star All-Conference elite team.

Bear is the only member of the elite team from the Iowa Star South Division, as he joins Brady Happel and Zach Johnson from Dunkerton, Codey Hicks from Janesville and Jack Kelley from Don Bosco. Bear and Hicks were the only two unanimous selections to the elite unit, and this was the second elite-team honor of his career.

Bear averaged 23.4 points per game in Iowa Star South games this season, the most for any player from the North or South Division in conference play. He had a career-high 39 points in a win over GMG on Dec. 11, 2018, and he also finished second in the South Division in rebounding with 99 boards in conference play.

Behind Bear’s leadership, the Warriors won the Iowa Star South for the first time as a program with a 9-1 record. The only other division title for Meskwaki came in the 2013-14 season, when the Warriors split the championship with Colo-NESCO.

Bear was also a unanimous selection for the Iowa Star South all-conference first team, the only Meskwaki player to earn a first-team honor. Bear has been an all-conference player all four years for the Warriors, as he was a second-team honoree last season, a first-team selection as a sophomore and an honorable mention as a freshman.

Hale Hulme

Joining Bear as first-team selections from the area were Hale Hulme and Ryan McLean from North Tama and Brayden Peterson from GMG. Both Hulme and Peterson were unanimous selections along with Bear.

Hulme averaged 21.6 points per game in Iowa Star South play, finishing behind Bear for second in the division. He was second in steals with 32 and led the Redhawks with 37 assists and nine blocks. This was his second all-conference honor after being an honorable mention last season.

McLean put up an average of 14.2 points per game, and he was fourth in the division in rebounding with 8.1 boards per game. He also tied with Hulme in blocked shots with nine. This was McLean’s first all-conference honor.

Peterson was third in the Iowa Star South in scoring with 19.8 points per game while shooting 60 percent from the floor, 40 percent from the line. He also averaged 5.2 rebounds per game and had a team-high 19 steals. Peterson was also a first-team selection a season ago.

Two area boys were selected to the second team in Meskwaki’s Taurice Grant and GMG’s Aaron Fleming. Fleming was third in the Iowa Star South in 3-point makes with 21 and he averaged 10.8 points per game. Grant led the division in assists with 60 and steals with 34, and he averaged 10.1 points per contest. Fleming was a second-team selection a year ago as well, while Grant got his first all-conference honor

Ryan McLean

Noah Seymour was an honorable mention for the Warriors, as was Kolten Gill for the Wolverines and Cael Even for North Tama. All three were a first-time all-conference honoree.

Codey Hicks was named the Player of the Year for the Iowa Star, while Dunkerton co-head coaches Brian Brungard and Todd Kuntz were voted as Coaches of the Year.

All-Iowa Star Conference Boys Basketball Teams

Player of the Year — Codey Hicks, Janesville

Coaches of the Year — Brian Brungard and Todd Kuntz, Dunkerton

Brayden Peterson


*Tate Bear SR Meskwaki

Brady Happel SR Dunkerton

*Codey Hicks SR Janesville

Zach Johnson SR Dunkerton

Jack Kelley SR Don Bosco



*Tate Bear SR Meskwaki

*Will Clapper SR Baxter

*Hale Hulme SR North Tama

Brett Livesay JR Collins-Maxwell

Ryan McLean JR North Tama

*Brayden Peterson SR GMG


Francis Bower JR Colo-NESCO

Cole Damman JR Baxter

Aaron Fleming SR GMG

Taurice Grant SO Meskwaki

John Kasper JR Collins-Maxwell

Carter Nelsen JR Baxter


Cael Even, sr., North Tama; Kolten Gill, sr., GMG; Kelly Gray, sr., Colo-NESCO; Mason Markley, so., Collins-Maxwell; Brendyn Padget, sr., Baxter; Noah Seymour, sr., Meskwaki.

(* — unanimous selection)