Qualifying track meet assignments doled out

The team assignments for the track and field state qualifying sites were announced by the Iowa High School Athletic Association and the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union on Friday.

Marshalltown will compete in the Class 4A District 6 meet at Johnston on May 9. Joining the Bobcats will be the host Dragons as well as Des Moines East, Des Moines Hoover, Des Moines North, West Des Moines Valley, Indianola and Southeast Polk.

East Marshall and West Marshall were both assigned to the 2A District 8 meet in State Center. Also at that meet will be Colfax-Mingo, Des Moines Christian, Dike-New Hartford, Madrid, Pleasantville, Roland-Story, South Hamilton, South Hardin, Woodward Academy and Woodward-Granger.

South Tama County will be at the 3A District 1 meet in Van Horne, where it will be joined by Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Clear Creek-Amana, Grinnell, Solon, Vinton-Shellsburg and Cedar Rapids Xavier.

BCLUW, GMG, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, Meskwaki and North Tama will be among a 15-team field in the 1A District 6 at Grundy Center.