VFW Auxiliary advocates help for veterans

The Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary of Post 839 and Post members met on Tuesday and served a meal for Phoebe Hermanson and her family as the Patriotic Pen third place winner at state level. Jerry Black presented her the check from the Department Post.

The meeting started at 6:45 p.m. There were 11 members present. Linda Tasler, president, conducted the meeting according to the ritual. General Orders were read. The Pledge of Allegiance was spoken. The minutes were read and approved. The treasurer’s report was read.

Correspondence was from the National VFW Home for Children, Canfield-Hughes Bettendorf 9128 Auxiliary, Keely Weeks of the Central Iowa Art Association, Camp Courageous and from the family of David Lurvey.

Tasler sent 8,990 coupons to CIRSI, 31 UPC and 111 labels to Franklin School, and 725 stamps to Stamps for The Wounded. Judy Scheibel reported 132 Auxiliary members contributed 615 hours to community service which amounted to $3,165.20.

The Money March was conducted. Prayer was said for the children at the VFW National Home for Children.

There will be Department VFW Auxiliary Bingo at Iowa Veterans Home on May 26. Four Auxiliary members volunteered at the Department Post Bingo held on the third Monday in May. Deloris Clayton encouraged all to help Veterans in Nursing Homes, VA Hospitals, Assisted Living facilities and shut-ins.

Betty Needs, the legislative chairman, and Linda T. will have letters for us to sign asking the elected Politicians to help Veterans each month. These letters will be in the General Orders. The addresses for Iowa Politicians are: Joni Ernst, 111 Russell, Senate Office Building, Washington DC, 20510: Charles Grassley, 135 Hart, Senate Office Building, Washington DC, 20510: Rod Blum, 515 Main St., Suite D, Cedar Falls JA 50613.

Flags for Every Veterans Grave will be distributed on May 25 – 26.

Contributions will be given to Camp Courageous, to the retiring Department Treasurer Carolyn Oldenberg, to the Marshalltown VA Clinic and to the Sheriff and Police departments.

Clayton, Third District President, installed Post 839 2017-18 officers. President and Scholarship Chairman, Tasler: Sr. Vice President and Legislative Chairman, Needs: Jr. Vice President and Community Service Chairman, Schiebel: Chaplain and Veteran and Family Services Chairman, Virginia Johnson: Conductress and one year Trustee, Linda Fuller: Two year Trustee, Kay Bell: Three year Trustee, Liz Polkiewicz: Guard, Carol Ewalt: Secretary, Hospital Chairman, VAVS, Americanism and All Vets Committee, Clayton: Treasurer, Assistant Hospital VAVS and All Vets Committee, Doris Lemker: Patriotic Instructor, Delores Popp.

The meeting closed according to the ritual. The next meeting will be at the Post at 6:30 p.m. on June 20.