Area Homecoming courts announced

All across the area, school districts are celebrating school pride and spirit this week during Homecoming season.

At East Marshall High School in Le Grand, the students picked as the Homecoming court are Caden Steward, Maria Rasmusson, Kam Hoskins, Madison Duncan, Chase Gratopp, Madalyn Hibbs, Noah Bandstra, Genesis Wanatee, Cole Nauman, Quin Damman, Gage Hulin and Raeann Meling.

One king and one queen candidate will be chosen as Mustang royalty Thursday evening. The pep rally and coronation at the high school gym will be preceded by a 6 p.m. Homecoming parade, all building up to the big game against Dike-New Hartford on Sept. 28.

The East Marshall Homecoming dance will be 8-11 p.m. Sept. 29 in the high school gym.

On the other side of the county, West Marshall High School Homecoming events have already wrapped up for 2018. That district’s Homecoming court consisted of Karisa Blocker, Kayla Cripps, Landt, Samantha Gerke and Darah Willis as queen candidates and Cameron Bannister, Chase Burr, Dugan, Joe Halverson and Jake Tollefson as king candidates — Landt and Dugan went on to become West Marshall royalty.

The football team faired well against opponents Aplington-Parkersburg in the Sept. 14 game, winning 48-28.

BCLUW has spirit days during homecoming week. At 6:30 p.m. Thursday the Homecoming parade through downtown Conrad will begin and at 7 p.m. the Homecoming coronation ceremony will be held in the high school gym. Queen candidates are Grace Purvis, Parker Scurr, Lili Wilson, Lilly Bracy and Olivia Hughes. King candidates (back from left) are Coby Willett, Lucas Halverson, Jack Garber, Jonny Neff and Caleb Silver.

On Friday, the high school and elementary students will participate in the annual Buddy Day from 11a.m. to 1 p.m. at the elementary school. A pre-game meal will be served by the Show Choir from 5:30 to 6:45 p.m. for a free-will donation. The meal will be a chicken taco bar with dessert and drink.

The Comets will host Wapsie Valley in the homecoming football game beginning at 7 p.m.

Also chosen is the Green Mountain-Garwin senior Homecoming court, including Kelsey Vaverka, Kolton Gill, Mable Dieleman, Carson Wobeter, Tory Novotny, Ethen Beach, Brock Baldazo, Zoe Duncan, Brayden Peterson, Madi Krull and Honorary King and Queen Lershito Pasamba and Anano Arveladze.

The GMG king and queen will be crowned 7 p.m. Oct. 3 at the old gymnasium at the Garwin school. A Homecoming parade is set for 2 p.m. Oct. 5 ahead of the game against North Tama at 7 p.m.