Candidates file for city council, school board

Fourteen Marshalltown residents met the 5 p.m. deadline to submit candidacy papers with required signatures to run for spots on either the Marshalltown City Council or the Marshalltown School Board.

Eight of the 14 are running for four seats on the city council. Two of those candidates are running for mayor — incumbent Joel Greer and candidate Serina Stabenow. Greer has been the mayor since 2017. Prior to that, he served as a Second Ward councilman for six years.

Mike Ladehoff is running to maintain his seat on the council. Ladehoff represents the First Ward. He earned his position through a special election earlier in 2021 after Sue Cahill vacated her position to serve in the Iowa House of Representatives.

Running for the Third Ward is Dex Walker. Incumbent Mike Gowdy did not turn in paperwork.

Running at-large for two positions is Mark Eaton, Barry Kell, Jeff Schneider and Dean Stucky.

There are six people who turned in the paperwork for four seats at the Marshalltown School Board table. The four positions soon to be available are held by Karina Hernandez, Mike Miller and Bea Niblock. Hernandez was the only incumbent to file. Neither Miller nor Niblock – who is the president of the board – are seeking re-election.

The other five candidates who are running for the Marshalltown School Board and will be on the November ballot include Becky Kouang, Bonnie Lowry, Melissa Nine, Leah Stanley and Zachary Wahl.

The election will be held Nov. 2, with polls open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Absentee ballots can be requested until Oct. 18. The deadline for in-person absentee voting is Nov. 1 at 5 p.m.

Editor’s Note: This article has been edited to correct the number of seats open on the Marshalltown school board.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today