Top-ranked Penn St. puts away Iowa; UNI pins ISU

IOWA CITY — Top-ranked Penn State won seven matches in handily defeating No. 7 Iowa, 28-13, to secure the Big Ten Conference regular-season championship.

The Nittany Lions (13-0, 9-0) got back-to-back pins at 174 and 184, and then closed the dual with a major decision and a ranked victory at heavyweight.

Iowa (11-3, 6-3) got a boost right off the bat from true freshman Spencer Lee, who pinned Devin Schnupp in the first period. Michael Kemerer won a major decision at 157, and then Alex Marinelli knocked off No. 1 Vincenzo Joseph 9-6 at 165.

Iowa returns to the mat on Feb. 18, traveling to face Iowa State in a 2 p.m. dual at Hilton Coliseum.

13th-ranked Panthers pummel Iowa State

CEDAR FALLS — The Northern Iowa wrestling team won eight matches to take down Iowa State 31-7 in the teams’ first Big 12 Conference dual between them.

It also marks the first time UNI (6-4, 3-2) has beaten Iowa State (8-9, 3-6) consecutively since the 2003 and 2004 seasons.

The Panthers got bonus points right off the bat as Jay Schwarm pinned Sinjin Briggs in 51 seconds. UNI received a forfeit at 141 and Taylor Lujan notched a major decision over Danny Bush at 174.

Iowa State’s wins came from Markus Simmons with a 14-0 major decision of Jack Wagner at 133, and Skyler St. John’s 7-4 victory over Dan Kelly.

UNI hosts No. 3 Missouri next Saturday at the West Gym, while the Cyclones face No. 7 Iowa in their season finale Feb. 18 in Ames.

No. 1 Penn St. 28, No. 7 Iowa 13

At University Park, Pa.

125–Spencer Lee (IA) pinned Devin Schnupp, 2:05; 133–Corey Keener (PSU) dec. Paul Glynn, 5-2; 141–Nick Lee (PSU) dec. Vince Turk, 11-8; 149–Zain Retherford (PSU) dec. Brandon Sorensen, 6-2; 157–Michael Kemerer (IA) major dec. Bo Phipher, 14-4; 165–Alex Marinelli (IA) dec. Vincenzo Joseph, 9-6; 174–Mark Hall (PSU) pinned Joey Gunther, 1:00; 184–Bo Nickal (PSU) pinned Mitch Bowman, :50; 197–Shakur Rasheed (PSU) major dec. Cash Wilcke, 11-2; 285–Nick Nevills (PSU) dec. Sam Stoll, 3-2.

No. 13 UNI 31, Iowa St. 7

At Cedar Falls

125–Jay Schwarm (UNI) pinned Sinjin Briggs, :51; 133–Markus Simmons (ISU) major dec. Jack Wagner, 14-0; 141–Josh Alber (UNI) won by forfeit; 149–Max Thomsen (UNI) dec. Jarrett Degen, 7-5; 157–Logan Ryan (UNI) dec. Chase Straw, 3-1; 165–Skyler St. John (ISU) dec. Dan Kelly, 7-4; 174–Taylor Lujan (UNI) major dec. Danny Bush, 17-6; 184–Drew Foster (UNI) dec. Dane Pestano, 6-4; 197–Jacob Holschlag (UNI) dec. Sam Colbray, 2-0; 285–Carter Isley (UNI) dec. Marcus Harrington, 4-3.