Bobcats’ Vance, Canaday tabbed to all-district teams

The post-season accolades keep rolling in for Marshalltown’s Nate Vance, as the senior Bobcat pitcher was named to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association North Central District first-team as a utility player.

Vance — making his third appearance on the all-district teams and second on the first team — helped lead MHS to its first state tournament berth in nine years, going 9-3 on the mound for the Bobcats with a 2.22 earned run average and 74 strikeouts.

He also led the team in batting with a .349 average, 31 runs scored and a .450 on-base percentage.

Also garnering an all-district selection was Marshalltown junior Wade Canaday, who was selected as the second-team third baseman.

Canaday hit .281 this year with a team-high 14 doubles and four home runs. He also had 24 RBIs and a .500 slugging percentage.

Half of the first team for the 1A Central District were area representatives, with NICL West Division co-champions BCLUW earning three nods.

Seniors Blake Mann, Troy Dolphin, and Brad Barkema all made the first team for the Comets, the third-total all-district selections for Dolphin and Barkema and first for Mann. Barkema was also the co-NICL West Most Outstanding Player.

Tate Payne and Hale Hulme both received a first-team selection for the first time in their careers, coming in as outfielder and utility player respectively for North Tama.

AGWSR senior Liam Stubbe was a first-team utility player for the NICL West co-champs, his third total all-district selection and first appearance on the first team.

Matthew Hill was the lone first-team representative for Colo-NESCO as a utility player, his third all-district appearance and second-straight on the first team.

Seven area players were on the 1A Central District second team as well: Lance Zobel from North Tama, Luke Starr and Alex Hames from AGWSR, Kolton Gill from GMG, Mason Lytle and Sean Cutler from Colo-NESCO and Logan Mann from BCLUW.

Three area players were given first-team honors in the 2A Central District. East Marshall senior Justin Ridout was selected as the first-team first baseman — his second appearance on the first team — and West Marshall senior Alex Dickey and junior Cameron Bannister were chosen as the third baseman and utility player respectively. This was both Bannister and Dickey’s second all-district selection. Dickey was also the NICL West co-Most Outstanding Player

Mustangs senior Zane Johnson and Trojans senior Parker Hulbert both earned second-team nods, the second honor for Johnson and first for Hulbert.

Three South Tama County players were selected to the 3A Northeast District second team: Carter Kriegel as a pitcher, Lane Koch as a third baseman and Cael Kellogg as a utility player.