Iowa’s Hockenson wins Mackey Award

IOWA CITY — University of Iowa tight end T.J. Hockenson has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 John Mackey Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top tight end.

Hockenson is the ninth player to receive an individual Player of the Year honor under head coach Kirk Ferentz, and this award is the 10th given to a Hawkeye player under Ferentz’s watch.

Hockenson, a redshirt sophomore from Chariton, Iowa, is the second tight end to earn the award for Iowa, joining Dallas Clark who received the Mackey award in 2002. Tony Moeaki, Allen Reisner and Hockenson’s teammate Noah Fant have all been semifinalists for the award.

Hockenson is the first sophomore to win the award, and Iowa is one of two schools to have multiple winners, along with Arkansas. He is also the fifth Big Ten tight end to be recognized.

Hockenson was previously named the Kwalick-Clark Big Ten Tight End of the Year, he earned first-team All-Big Ten honors from the league media and second-team honors from the Big Ten coaches. He was awarded the Ozzie Newsome Award as well, which is presented by the Touchdown Club of Columbus, Ohio, to the nation’s top tight end.

Hockenson leads Iowa with 46 receptions for 717 yards and six receiving touchdowns. He also has a rushing touchdown and averages 15.6 yards per catch. He is seventh among Iowa tight ends all-time with nine touchdown receptions in his career.

The John Mackey Award will be presented tonight at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show in Atlanta on ESPNU, starting at 5 p.m.