State-bound Trojans place 4 on NICL West all-conference teams


The all-conference teams have been announced for the North Iowa Cedar League West Division, and Class 3A state-qualifier West Marshall had plenty of representation.

Trojan senior Kayla Cripps was selected to the first team, while juniors Karlyn Snider and Avril Sinning were given second-team nods and fellow junior Teresa Disney was an honorable mention.

Cripps led West Marshall to a second-place finish in the NICL West with 13.1 points per game and 5.5 rebounds per game during conference play. Cripps finished tied for third in total points scored in conference games with 144, along with AGWSR’s Aubrie Fisher and Gladbrook-Reinbeck’s Taylor Gienger. This was the second-straight first-team all-conference selection for Cripps.

Snider averaged 10.3 points per game in conference play, while Sinning had 6.3 points per game and three rebounds per contest. Snider was an honorable mention a year ago, and this was Sinning’s first selection to the all-conference lists.

Disney has been featured on the NICL West teams all three years she has played, as she was a second-team selection a year ago and was an honorable mention as a freshman.

BCLUW, which finished third in the conference, had three total honorees. Madi Ubben earned her first first-team honor after averaging 9.6 points and 6.6 rebounds for the Comets. Ubben was also selected to the second team last year as a sophomore.

Katie Thompson earned her first all-conference selection when she was named to the second team, and Bailey Ashton also got her first honor as an honorable mention.

East Marshall also had three girls honored after finishing fifth in the conference standings. Olivia Terrones was named to the first team after averaging 16.9 points in NICL West games, second only to NICL West Most Outstanding Player Hailey Wallis from Grundy Center. Terrones was also a second-team honoree a year ago and an honorable mention in 2017.

Madison Farrington earned her first all-conference honor by being selected to the second team, and Melinda Puumala also got her first selection as an honorable mention.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck had three selections as well, with Taylor Gienger making the first team, Saari Kuehl the second team and Belen Ellenberger an honorable mention. Gienger was on the second team the last two years, while it was the first honor for both Kuehl and Ellenberger.

Grundy Center’s Matt Lindeman was awarded coach of the year after his girls went undefeated in conference play, and Wallis earned her first Most Outstanding Player award.