Cook, Shayok, McGlynn earn all-district honors

ST. LOUIS — Iowa State University redshirt senior Marial Shayok, University of Iowa junior Tyler Cook and Drake University senior Nick McGlynn have been selected to the all-District VI by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Cook is the fifth Hawkeye to earn the all-district selection in the last six years. He was also selected as an all-Big Ten Conference Second Team player by the media members in the conference and third team by the Big Ten coaches. He tied for 11th in scoring in the conference with 15 points per game, and he averaged 8.1 rebounds per game.

Shayok finished second in the regular season in the Big 12 Conference in scoring with 18.7 points per game, shooting 49.6 percent from the field and 39.6 percent from the 3-point line. He has scored in double figures in 28 of 30 games this season, with a career-high 26 points on three different occasions. Shayok was a first-team All-Big 12 selection and is a finalist for the Julius Erving Small Forward Award.

McGlynn was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year for the Missouri Valley Conference, and he was second in the voting for the conference Player of the Year. He finished the season with a team-high 15.6 points and 8.5 rebounds per game, including an MVC-leading 6.6 rebounds per contest. McGlynn was also second in the conference in blocks per game at 1.6, and his 52 total blocks made him the Bulldog’s all-time leading shot blocker with 143 denials in his career.

Also on the 11-man District VI team were Barry Brown and Dean Wade from Kansas State, Devon Dotson and Dedric Lawson from Kansas, Ty-Shon Alexander from Creighton, Mike Daum from South Dakota State, Christian James from Oklahoma and James Palmer from Nebraska.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)