Gustafson named Player of the Year by ESPNW

IOWA CITY — For the first time in school history, a Hawkeye has the top spot.

University of Iowa senior forward Megan Gustafson has been named the ESPNW Women’s Basketball National Player of the Year, it was announced Friday.

Gustafson was a unanimous first-team All-America selection by ESPNW, leads the country in points per game (28.0), total points (897), field-goal percentage (69.6) and field goals made (369). She is second in double-doubles (30) and defensive rebounds per game (10), third in total rebounds (424) and fourth in rebounds per game (13.3).

Gustafson is the only Hawkeye in program history to win the Big Ten Conference’s Player of the Year award twice, and just the ninth two-time winner in conference history.

On Friday, Gustafson was also named as one of five finalists for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award. Named after the three-time All-American and 1994 National Player of the Year, the annual award recognizes the top centers in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball.

The No. 8 Hawkeyes are hosting a Big Ten Championship celebration and NCAA Selection Show watch party on Monday at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City. Doors open at 4:30 p.m. with the event beginning at 5 p.m., and admission is free.