Cyclones draw South Carolina for Big 12/SEC

IRVING, Texas — The Big 12 and Southeastern conferences have announced the matchups for their women’s basketball challenge for the 2020-21 season, with Iowa State set to host powerhouse South Carolina on Dec. 6.

“South Carolina coming to Hilton Coliseum will give our fans a chance to see the team that ended last season No.1 in the nation and will be there to start this season,” Iowa State head coach Bill Fennelly said. “This adds another major test to what will be one of the toughest schedules we have ever faced.”

The Gamecocks ended the 2019-20 season as the nation’s No. 1 team with a 32-1 overall record, while the Cyclones ended their season with a win over No. 2 Baylor on Senior Day.

Every team from the Big 12 will participate, while 10 teams from the SEC will take part. The format features five home games on campus sites for each conference per year.

The inaugural challenge was held in 2014, and the 10-team format began in 2016. Last season, the Big 12 Conference won the Challenge 8-2 in the most lopsided year in the series history. Iowa State claimed a win over Alabama on the road in 2019.

2020 SEC/Big 12 Women’s Basketball Challenge

Baylor at Arkansas

South Carolina at Iowa State

Kansas at Ole Miss

Kentucky at Kansas State

Oklahoma at Georgia

Alabama at Oklahoma State

TCU at Missouri

Texas A&M at Texas

Texas Tech at Vanderbilt

Tennessee at West Virginia


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)