Iowa's Jewell and Jackson, ISU's Lanning named All-Americans

AP College Football Writer
No. 2 Oklahoma will bring three All-Americans to the College Football Playoff.
Quarterback Baker Mayfield, offensive tackle Orlando Brown and tight end Mark Andrews of Oklahoma were selected to the Associated Press All-America team, giving the Sooners more players on the first team than any school. The All-America team, which dates to 1925 and was selected this season by a panel of 17 Top 25 voters, was released Monday.
University of Iowa senior linebacker Josey Jewell and junior defensive back Josh Jackson were placed on the first team by both the Associated Press and Football Writers Association of America. Iowa State senior Joel Lanning joined Jewell and Jackson on the FWAA’s first team.
This is the fourth straight year Iowa has had an Associated Press All-American, (Desmond King, 2015-16; Austin Blythe, 2015; Brandon Scherff, 2014) and third time in four years that player was named to the first team.
Jewell, a native of Decorah, was named a Walter Camp first-team All-America and was recipient of the Lott IMPACT Trophy and Jack Lambert Award. Jewell earned first-team all-conference honors by Big Ten coach and media and Associated Press.
Jewell leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally in tackles (125 total, 11.4 per game). He is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and was a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. In addition, he was a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Butkus Awards.
Jewell is the third Hawkeye in program history to have three seasons with at least 115 tackles (Larry Station 1983, ’84, ’85; Abdul Hodge ’03, ’04, ’05). Jewell has led the team in tackles in each of the last two seasons (126 in 2015, 124 in 2016).
Jewell has 426 career tackles, fifth all-time in program history.
Jackson, a native of Corinth, Texas, is tied as the national leader with seven interceptions and earned all-conference recognition for the first time and was named a Walter Camp first-team All-American.  He leads the nation with 25 passes defended and is tied for second in interception return touchdowns (two), and pass break-ups (18).
Jackson’s seven interceptions rank fourth best for a single season at Iowa, just one from tying Iowa’s single-season record (Desmond King, 2015; Lou King, 1981; Nile Kinnick, 1939).
Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with two interception returns for touchdowns (B.J. Lowery, 2013) at Wisconsin, covering 43 and 52 yards. The previous week, Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with three interceptions in Iowa’s 55-24 win over No. 3 Ohio State.
Jackson was a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award.
The FWAA All-America team is one of the oldest and most prestigious All-America compilations. Since 1945, the FWAA All-America Team has been part of the NCAA consensus All-America collections.
Lanning led the Cyclones into the national rankings for the first time since 2005 and their first bowl berth in five years. The Ankeny native currently ranks 31st nationally in tackles per game (9.2), registering a team-high four double-digit tackle performances, including a career-high 20 stops vs. Texas.
Lanning’s 20 tackles vs. the Longhorns ranks ninth in school history and ties for fifth among FBS players this season.
Lanning also leads the team in sacks (5.0), ranks second in TFL (10.0) and has a fumble recovery and interception on the season.
Lanning also played a huge role on offense in spot duty at quarterback, registering 934 snaps (765 on defense, 124 on special teams, 45 on offense) on the season. He is the first FBS player in 11 years to record a sack, interception, fumble recovery, rushing touchdown and passing touchdown in a season since Eric Weddle (Utah) did it in 2006.
Lanning was utilized by the Cyclone offense in crucial situations throughout the season. He was 5-of-5 on third down and 4-of-4 on fourth down conversion rushes.
Four of the top five vote-getters for the Heisman Trophy made the Associated Press first team, including the runaway winner Mayfield. Stanford’s Bryce Love, the Heisman runner-up, and San Diego State’s Rashaad Penny, the nation’s leading rusher and fifth-place finisher for the Heisman, were the first-team running backs. Penn State’s Saquon Barkley, who finished fourth in the Heisman voting, made the team as an all-purpose player.
Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, last year’s Heisman winner and All-America quarterback, was selected to the second team.