TTT Chapter ET selects two campers

Two Marshalltown girls who will complete fourth grade this spring have been chosen as 2020 TTT Campers by members of Iowa ET, the National TTT Society. Margaret Johnson, camp co-chair, noted that she, Susan Baker and Karen Colwell, had already met with the girls and their families and initial steps are already being taken to prepare the girls for a week this summer at the Des Moines YMCA Camp.

Two older Marshalltown girls, one a senior at MHS and one a second semester college student, and both former campers sponsored by Iowa ET, are in line for TTT’s financial assistance for college. Lorraine Schultz, a spokesman for ET’s Scholarship committee, said that an application has been sent to the high schooler and funding for the college student is awaiting receipt of her first semester transcript.

Members recalled the enthusiasm and spirit that Jeanice Johnston had brought to the chapter and noted that five members represented the chapter at Johnston’s memorial service Feb. 11.

All three Marshalltown TTT chapters have been invited April 14 to the annual TTT Founders Day salad supper at Our Savior Lutheran Church hosted by Iowa DA. Members’ RSVPs will be taken at the March meeting.

All members of ET were encouraged to attend the Iowa State TTT convention, March 27-28 at Grinnell College. President Deb Nuss agreed to check reservation information and distribute it to members, since reservations need to be made before ET’s March 17 meeting.

The key discussion was led by Nuss, based on the ET Board’s responses to National TTT Board’s survey designed to determine how chapters recruit and attract new members. Related to the survey and the nationwide concern for TTT visibility and recruitment, was her request at the November meeting and again in preparation for this meeting, for members to submit ideas for ways to improve Iowa ET, make it more visible in the community, “sell” the idea of joining, improve attendance and find a viable fundraising method to support the camping project.

She also led an active discussion about ideas in the “Tool Book” that the National Board has provided for chapters to take on these challenges. An ad hoc committee to explore these needs was named: Roe Welker, Lisa Welker, Schultz and Nuss.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)