Recognizing school board members’ devotion to MCSD students, community

May is School Board Recognition Month in Iowa, and the Marshalltown Community School District joins public education communities throughout the state in thanking Iowa school boards for launching Iowa’s next generation.

Throughout the month, let’s take time to recognize the contributions made by the seven members of the Marshalltown School Board, who are responsible for providing high-quality public education to our students.

MCSD board members are elected by their school community members to manage our local schools. Along with overseeing the District’s annual budget, board members make key decisions in the interest of our 5,200 students and nearly 900 staff spread across 10 school buildings and a virtual academy.

These elected volunteers create school policy, approve curricula, develop innovative opportunities, and maintain school facilities. Board members must enhance their understanding of state and federal education law; the complexities of school finance, including budgets and taxes; and the importance of maintaining a positive district culture. They spend many hours in board training programs and personal study, while also advocating for public schools with their local legislators. It may not seem like rocket science, but it is!

We don’t always recognize the dedication and hard work of these public servants elected to represent us and the interests of our children. There are many ways to thank your school board members for their service – members of the public are always welcome to attend the regular school board meetings held the first and third Mondays each month (except for July and January); they can also be reached using information provided on the MCSD website: https://www.marshalltown.k12.ia.us/school-board/meet-the-school-board/

The members serving on your Marshalltown School Board are: Sean Heitmann, Board President, Sara Faltys, Board Vice President, Karina Hernandez, Bonnie Lowry, Jan McGinnis, Leah Stanley and Zach Wahl.

Please join us in showing appreciation for the work Marshalltown School Board members do for the children of our community during School Board Member Recognition Month this May.


Theron Schutte is Superintendent, for Marshalltown

Community School District


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today