MHS splits double dual in Ottumwa

OTTUMWA — The Marshalltown wrestling team competed in its final duals of the season on Thursday in Ottumwa.

The Bobcats went 1-1 on the day, taking out the tournament-host Bulldogs, 48-22, then they lost to Waukee, 51-27.

Three Marshalltown wrestlers won both of their matches on the day, as Logan Baccam at 138 pounds, Brian Trowbridge at 160 and Decker Mann at 220 each walked away unscathed.

Baccam beat Ottumwa’s Vincent Vass by a 10-2 major decision, then he pinned Waukee’s Jermaine Sammler in the first period.

Trowbridge received a forfeit victory against the Bulldogs, then took a 5-0 decision over Trevor Imm from the Warriors.

Mann also was given a forfeit win against Ottumwa, then he pinned Jake Morrison from Waukee in the second period.

Other than those three, Bennett Hageman, Zach Bitker, Jay Drummer, Wyatt Himes, Jordan Anderson, Coltin Grimm and Jordan Fox all won at least one match in the double dual.

Marshalltown 48, Ottumwa 22

106–Bennett Hageman (MHS) won by forfeit; 113–Zach Bitker (MHS) pinned Trenton Elliott :40; 120–Jay Drummer (MHS) won by forfeit; 126–Nathanael Shoemaker (O) pinned Saul Pantoja 2:00; 132–Lucas Stevens (MHS) major dec. Blake Klein 8-0; 138–Logan Baccam (MHS) major dec. Vincent Vass 10-2; 145–Nik Batterson (O) major dec. John Loney 12-3; 152–Wyatt Himes (MHS) major dec. Tyler McCoy 9-1; 160–Brian Trowbridge (MHS) won by forfeit; 170–Bryan Cordova (O) dec. Braydon Arnote 9-4; 182–Brody Slack (O) won by forfeit; 195–Joey Mitchell (O) major dec. Jordan Fox 10-2; 220–Decker Mann (MHS) won by forfeit; 285–Jordan Anderson (MHS) pinned Jacob Brownlee 1:14.

(* — Ottumwa penalized one team point for language)

Waukee 51, Marshalltown 27

285–Nathan McDonald (W) pinned Jordan Anderson 1:04; 106–Lucas Uliano (W) pinned Bennett Hageman 3:25; 113–Connor Kelley (W) won by forfeit; 120–Nick Miller (W) pinned Jay Drummer 4:53; 126–Kyle Biscoglia (W) pinned Saul Pantoja 1:03; 132–Coltin Grimm (MHS) pinned Marcus Schneider 1:52; 138–Logan Baccam (MHS) pinned Jermaine Sammler 1:52; 145–Brock Parker (W) pinned John Loney 3:45; 152–Mason Seifried (W) dec. Wyatt Himes 4-1; 160–Brian Trowbridge (MHS) dec. Trevor Imm 5-0; 170–Anthony Zach (W) pinned Braydon Arnote :45; 182–Brandon Tessau (W) won by forfeit; 195–Jordan Fox (MHS) pinned Jared Johnson 3:42; 220–Decker Mann (MHS) pinned Jake Morrison 3:30.