Iowa State’s Jackson in 3-point shootout

UNI’s Bennett Koch on MVC’s 3-on-3 team

Iowa State’s Donovan Jackson has been selected to participate in the 3-point championship in the 30th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-point Championships on Thursday in San Antonio.

Jackson is one of eight men’s college basketball players selected to the event that will air live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. The last Cyclone to compete in the 3-point contest was Nazareth Mitrou-Long last season. Dedric Willoughby, Fred Hoiberg and Tyrus McGee have also represented the Iowa State in the event.

Jackson will also be playing in the 3X3U National Championship held March 30-April 1 at the same site, along with Northern Iowa’s Bennett Koch.

In its inaugural season, the 3X3U National Championships will pit 32 four-man teams representing every NCAA Division I college basketball conference against each other in a 3-on-3 tournament. The teams, comprised of seniors who have exhausted their collegiate eligibility, will compete for a $100,000 prize pool.

Jackson is joined by Baylor’s Manu Lecomte, Texas Tech’s Zach Smith and West Virginia’s Daxter Miles in representing the Big 12 Conference.

Joining Koch on the Missouri Valley Conference team will be Bradley’s Donte Thomas, Indiana State’s Brenton Scott and Valparaiso’s Tevonn Walker.