Three Hawkeyes earn AP All-America honors

IOWA CITY — University of Iowa tight ends T.J. Hockenson and Noah Fant and safety Amani Hooker have been named to The Associated Press All-America team, announced on Monday.

Hockenson and Hooker were both named to the second team, while Fant was a third-team selection.

Hockenson, a redshirt sophomore from Chariton, was previously named a second-team All American by the Walter Camp Foundation and the Football Writers Association of America. He also was the recipient of the John Mackey Award for the top tight end in the country and he was awarded the Ozzie Newsome Award, presented by the Touchdown Club of Columbus, Ohio, to the nation’s top tight end.

Hockenson leads Iowa with 46 receptions for 717 yards and six receiving touchdown, as well as one rushing touchdown. He averaged 15.6 yards per catch and is seventh all-time for Hawkeye tight ends in touchdown receptions with seven.

Hooker was named the Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year in the Big Ten and earned first-team all-Big Ten honors from both the coaches and media.

Hooker ranks second on the team with 59 tackles and he shares the team lead and ranks second in the Big Ten with four interceptions this season. He also has a team-high seven pass breakups.

Fant was a first-team all-Big Ten selection by the coaches and second-team honoree by the media, swapping spots with Hockenson on both lists. He had 39 receptions for 519 yards and led the Hawkeyes with seven touchdown receptions.

Fant ranks first all-time among Iowa tight ends in touchdown receptions with 19 and third all-time among Big Ten tight ends. He has concluded his time playing for the Hawkeyes and has announced he will enter the 2019 NFL Draft.



Quarterback — Kyler Murray, jr., Oklahoma

Running backs — Jonathan Taylor, so., Wisconsin; Darrell Henderson, jr., Memphis

Tackles — Jonah Williams, jr., Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, sr., Clemson

Guards — Beau Benzschawel, sr., Wisconsin; Bunchy Stallings, sr., Kentucky

Center — Garrett Bradbury, sr., North Carolina State

Tight end — Jace Sternberger, jr., Texas A&M

Wide receivers — Jerry Jeudy, so., Alabama; Marquise Brown, jr., Oklahoma

All-purpose player — Rondale Moore, fr., Purdue

Kicker — Andre Szmyt, fr., Syracuse


Ends — Clelin Ferrell, jr., Clemson; Sutton Smith, jr., Northern Illinois

Tackles — Quinnen Williams, jr., Alabama; Christian Wilkins, sr., Clemson

Linebackers — Josh Allen, sr., Kentucky; Devin White, jr., LSU; Ben Burr-Kirven, sr., Washington

Cornerbacks — Deandre Baker, sr., Georgia; Julian Love, jr., Notre Dame

Safeties — Grant Delpit, so., LSU; Deionte Thompson, jr., Alabama

Punter — Braden Mann, jr., Texas A&M



Quarterback — Tua Tagovailoa, so., Alabama

Running backs — Travis Etienne, so., Clemson; Trayveon Williams, jr., Texas A&M

Tackles — Dalton Risner, sr., Kansas State; Andrew Thomas, so., Georgia

Guards — Dru Samia, sr., Oklahoma; Michael Dieter, sr., Wisconsin

Center — Ross Pierschbacher, sr., Alabama

Tight end — T.J, Hockenson, so., Iowa

Wide receivers — Tylan Wallace, so., Oklahoma State; Andy Isabella, sr., Massachusetts

All-purpose player — Greg Dortch, so., Wake Forest

Kicker — Cole Tracy, sr., LSU


Ends — Montez Sweat, sr., Mississippi State; Jachai Polite, jr., Florida

Tackles — Jerry Tillery, sr., Notre Dame; Gerald Willis III, sr., Miami

Linebackers — Devin Bush, jr., Michigan; David Long Jr., jr., West Virginia; Joe Dineen, sr., Kansas

Cornerbacks — Greedy Williams, so., LSU; Byron Murphy, so., Washington

Safeties — Taylor Rapp, jr., Washington; Amani Hooker, jr., Iowa

Punter — Mitch Wishnowsky, sr., Utah



Quarterbacks — Dwayne Haskins, so., Ohio State

Running backs — Benny Snell, jr., Kentucky; Eno Benjamin, so., Arizona State

Tackles — Andre Dillard, sr., Washington State; Cody Ford, jr., Oklahoma

Guards — Terrone Prescod, sr., North Carolina State; Chris Lindstrom, sr., Boston College

Center — Michael Jordan, jr., Ohio State

Tight end — Noah Fant, jr., Iowa

Wide Receivers — A.J. Brown, jr., Mississippi; David Sills V, sr., West Virginia

All-purpose player — J.J. Taylor, so., Arizona

Kicker — Matt Gay, sr., Utah


Ends — Chase Winovich, sr., Michigan; Jaylon Ferguson, sr., Louisiana Tech

Tackles — Jeffery Simmons, jr., Mississippi State; Ed Oliver, jr., Houston

Linebackers — Paddy Fisher, so., Northwestern; David Woodward, so., Utah State; Te’Von Coney, sr., Notre Dame

Cornerbacks — Hamp Cheevers, jr., Boston College; Lavert Hill, jr., Michigan

Safeties — Andre Cisco, fr., Syracuse; Jonathan Abram, sr., Mississippi State

Punter — James Smith, so., Cincinnati


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)