10 girls state wrestling champions crowned

WAVERLY — A boost in participation across the state led to the inaugural Iowa High School Girls Wrestling Championships, and the first 10 titlists have now been crowned.

AGWSR junior Ali Gerbracht became the first girls’ state wrestling champion with her 4-1 decision over Bettendorf’s Ella Schmit in the 106-pound finals, setting the stage for nine more winners at the close of Saturday’s event at Waverly-Shell Rock High School.

Gerbracht won her first two matches by first-period pins and was eventually the first Iowa girl to have her hand raised as state wrestling champion. Her father and head coach, Chad, presented her the first-place medal to kick off the awards ceremony at the end of the meet.

In all, three North Iowa Cedar League schools sent wrestlers to the first-ever Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association-sponsored state tournament, but Gerbracht was the conference’s lone champion.

Denver’s 11 competitors were led by Lila Meyer’s third-place finish at 170, while Hannah Michael of Union Community finished fourth after falling to Gerbracht in the 106 semifinals.

Sydney Park, the 126-pound champion, recorded four pins in a total time of 5 minutes, 14 seconds. Colfax-Mingo’s champion at 285 — Rilee Slycord — came away with pins in two of her four victories in a combined time of just 43 seconds.

Championship Finals

106 — Ali Gerbracht (AGWSR) dec. Ella Schmit (Bettendorf) 4-1

113 — Tateum Park (Davenport North) dec. Meridian Snitker (Waukon) 8-1

120 — Chloe Clemons (Cedar Rapids Jefferson) pinned Jacey Meier (Waverly-Shell Rock) 3:51

126 — Sydney Park (Davenport Central) pinned Regan Griffith (Waukon) 2:08

132 — Annika Behrends (Waverly-Shell Rock) dec. Olivia Diggins (Logan-Magnolia) 10-9

138 — Avery Meier (Waverly-Shell Rock) pinned Maddison Buffum (Missouri Valley) 1:57

152 — Toyia Griffin (Nashua-Plainfield) pinned Hedda Kveum (Waverly-Shell Rock) :16

170 — Jacenta Sargisson (LeMars) major dec. Nevaeh Bushaw (Waukon) 10-1

195 — Millie Peach (Iowa Valley) pinned Hanna Johnson (Waverly-Shell Rock) 1:03

285 — Rilee Slycord (Colfax-Mingo) pinned Iliana Yanes (Oakland, Riverside) :20