Shayok named to Julius Erving Award Top 10

Marial Shayok

AMES — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 10 candidates for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award and Iowa State’s Marial Shayok was among those on the list.

Shayok has been one of the Big 12 Conference’s top players this season for the Cyclones, as he is currently second in scoring in the conference at 19.1 points per game.

He has a chance to become just the second player in the last 10 years to average 19 points and shoot 50 percent from the field, 40 percent from behind the 3-point line and 90 percent at the free-throw line.

Shayok has scored in double figures in 22 of 23 games this season, posting 10 games with 20 or more points. He scored 24 points earlier this season against Kansas, hitting all five of his 3-pointers and finishing 9-for-12 from the field.

In March, five finalists will be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on April 12.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)