Two Trojans tabbed to all-state

STC’s Musgrave garners third honor; West Marshall’s Cripps nets first award

T-R FILE PHOTO - South Tama County senior forward Jessica Musgrave (11) goes up for the shot in the lane during a WaMaC Conference game against Dyersville Beckman on Nov. 30, 2018, in Tama.

DES MOINES — South Tama County senior Jessica Musgrave was honored with her third all-state selection of her career while West Marshall senior Kayla Cripps made her first appearance on the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association all-state girls basketball teams.

Musgrave was selected to the Class 3A second team while Cripps came in on the 3A third team.

Musgrave was also a first-team selection in 2018 and she was a third-team honoree in 2017 on the Iowa Newspaper Association all-state team. She was also a second-team selection this year by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association, her third-straight time earning that honor.

Musgrave wasn’t the offensive threat she had been the last two seasons, where she led 3A in scoring in 2018, but she still averaged 14.6 points per game and scored 278 total points. She finished her career as the leading scorer in Trojan girls basketball history with 1,385 points, and she helped lead STC to a second-straight regional final this season before being eliminated by eventual-finalist North Polk.

While her offensive production was down from the previous years, Musgrave was second in the class in steals with 97, her third-straight year finishing in the top seven in steals in 3A.

T-R FILE PHOTO - West Marshall senior guard Kayla Cripps (22) attempts a layup in front of Center Point-Urbana’s Callyn Fox, left, during their Class 3A girls state basketball tournament quarterfinal game on Feb. 26 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Musgrave also finished just shy of 500 rebounds in her career, pulling down 484 boards in her four years. She also had back-to-back triple-doubles this season, going for 20 points, 12 rebounds and 15 steals in a win over West Delaware and following that with 28 points, 13 rebounds and 10 steals in a win over Vinton-Shellsburg.

She will be going to Upper Iowa University next year to continue her playing career in the NCAA Division II level.

Cripps was the leading scorer on a West Marshall team that returned to the state tournament for the first time since 2012. She ended the year averaging 12.2 points per game and she had 256 total points, 65 steals, 59 assists and 115 rebounds.

A season ago, Cripps averaged nine points per game and finished with 216 points. She not only upped her production in points, but she had 22 more assists to help fill the void left by former all-state selection Isabelle Gradwell.

Cripps also had a career-high 23 points in a game against Iowa Falls-Alden in November. She was an all-NICL West Division first-team selection for a second-straight season, and she helped the Trojans to second in the NICL West by averaging 13.1 points per game in conference play.

West Des Moines Valley senior Zoe Young was named this season’s Miss Basketball by the IPSWA. Young averaged 23.4 points and 5.6 rebounds per game, helping the Tigers capture the Class 5A state title. She was the all-tournament team captain and shot 56.2 percent from the floor.

Young will play for the University of Maryland next season.




Emilee Danner, Ar-We-Va, sr.; Shateah Wetering, Montezuma, jr.; Rachel Leerar, West Hancock, so.; Kori Wedeking, Clarksville, jr.; Suzanna Yoder, Iowa Mennonite School, sr.; Olivia Larsen, Newell-Fonda, sr.; Carson Fisk, Lynnville-Sully, sr.; Kassidi Steel, North Mahaska, jr.


Hannah Erickson, Central Elkader, jr.; Madison Gettler, CAM, sr.; Carah Drees, Westwood Sloan, sr.; Aubrie Fisher, AGWSR, sr.; Amanda Chizek, West Hancock, jr.; Tori Michel, Bellevue Marquette, jr.; Acey Jellison, Seymour, sr.; Faith Vincent, Colo-NESCO, sr.


Nichole Kane, Springville, sr.; Sadie Zaruba, Easton Valley, sr.; Kaylyn Meyers, Bishop Garrigan, so.; Madison Tritle, Central City, sr.; TJ Stoaks, Lenox, so.; Riley Jewett, Seymour, sr.; Briana Baker-Bruce, Janesville, sr.; Jayde Barto, Kingsley-Pierson, jr.



Sam Wall, Maquoketa Valley, sr.; Taryn Scheuermann, Van Buren, jr.; Kayla Chapman, Treynor, sr.; Nicole McDermott, Cascade, jr.; Alli Masters, Central Decatur, sr.; Payton Slaughter, Cherokee, sr.; Konnor Sudmann, Treynor, sr.; Hailey Wallis, Grundy Center, sr.


Emma Atwood, Central Decatur, sr.; Kassidy Pingel, Cherokee, sr.; Bailey Beckman, Panorama, sr.; Ellie Foster, Dike-New Hartford, jr.; Maya Johnson, Mediapolis, sr.; Grace Flanagan, North Linn, jr.; Sam Stewart, Mount Ayr, jr.; Maddie Jones, South Central Calhoun, sr.


Chloe Lofstrom, North Union, jr.; Kennedy Wallace, Iowa City Regina, sr.; Kylie Morrison, Logan-Magnolia, jr.; Alyson Stokes, Highland, sr.; Sophia Jungling, Aplington-Parkersburg, jr.; Janie Schoonhoven, Unity Christian, so.; Kortney Drake, Wilton, sr.; Erica Hoffman, East Buchanan, jr.



Logan Hughes, Shenandoah, sr.; Maggie Phipps, North Polk, so.; Adrianna Katcher, Center Point-Urbana, jr.; Kelsey Fields, Creston, so.; Sharon Goodman, Crestwood, jr.; Callyn Fox, Center Point-Urbana, sr.; Kallyn Stumbo, Okoboji, jr.; Jaedon Murphy, North Polk, jr.


Sara Faber, Clear Lake, jr.; Kylie Sanders, Louisa-Muscatine, so.; Kaili Lawson, Des Moines Christian, sr.; Regan Freland, PCM, jr.; Ryley Goebel, Center Point Urbana, fr.; Jessica Musgrave, South Tama County, sr.; Brielle Baker, Creston, sr.; Abbey Holmes, Algona, jr.


Mya Mershman, Central Lee, so.; Maddie Ahlstrom, Waukon, sr.; Katie Meyer, Iowa Falls-Alden, sr.; Kayla Cripps, West Marshall, sr.; Deseree Stubbe, Clarke, sr.; Madi Parson, Camanche, sr.; Josie Condon, Estherville-Lincoln Central, sr.; Reagan Barkema, Roland-Story, fr.



Kayba Laube, Marion, jr.; Megan Meyer, Mason City, sr.; Madison Dreckman, LeMars, sr.; Grace Boffeli, North Scott, jr.; Caitlynn Daniels, Cedar Rapids Xavier, jr.; Ella Skinner, Sioux City Heelan, jr.; Macy Harris, Grinnell, sr.; Riley Wright, Marion, so.


Megan Witte, Council Bluffs Lewis Central, jr.; Abbie Draper, Waverly-Shell Rock, so.; Katie Keitges, Knoxville, jr.; Emily Holterhaus, Pella, sr.; Kenzie Foley, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, jr.; Karsyn Stratton, Clear Creek-Amana, jr.; Ella Van Weeldon, Marion, so.; Presley Case, North Scott, jr.


Katelyn Stanley, Sioux City Heelan, jr.; Emily Jasper, Cedar Rapids Xavier, sr.; Alex Mohr, Denison-Schleswig, sr.; Taylor Veach, Central DeWitt, fr.; Elle Scarborough, Glenwood, so.; Naomi Jackson, Grinnell, sr.; Rylie Rucker, North Scott, sr.; Anna Deets, Mason City, jr.



Zoe Young, West Des Moines, Valley, sr.; Caitlin Clark, Dowling Catholic, jr.; Maggie McGraw, Southeast Polk, sr.; Emerson Green, Cedar Falls, jr.; Maya McDermott, Johnston, jr.; Grace Larkins, Southeast Polk, so.; Aubrey Joens, Iowa City High, jr.; Paityn Rau, Waukee, sr.


Anna Brown, Waukee, sr.; Rose Nkuma, Iowa City High, jr.; Lauren Zacharias, Iowa City West, sr.; Hannah Stuelke, Cedar Rapids Washington, fr.; Shea Fuller, West Des Moines, Valley, sr.; Sidney McCrea, Cedar Rapids Prairie, jr.; Anaya Barney, Cedar Falls, so.; Carli Spelhaug, Pleasant Valley, sr.


Rachel Schon, Ankeny Centennial, sr.; Caroline Waite, Ames, so.; DeeDee Pryor, Urbandale, sr.; Audrey Koch, Iowa City West, so.; Lily Anderson, Ottumwa, sr.; Sara McCullough, Ankeny, sr.; Kylie Wroblewski, Bettendorf, sr.; Cailyn Morgan, Iowa City West, sr.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)