Iowa’s Duncan, Epenesa on 1st-team B1G defense

IOWA CITY — University of Iowa junior kicker Keith Duncan has been named the Bakken-Anderson Kicker of the Year in the Big Ten Conference.

Duncan and junior defense end A.J. Epenesa were both named first-team all-Big Ten in a vote of the league’s coaches and media. Select individual honors and defensive all-conference teams were announced by the Big Ten on Tuesday. Offensive award winners will be announced today.

In addition to Epenesa on the first defensive unit, junior defensive back Geno Stone (coaches) and senior defensive back Michael Ojemudia (media) earned second-team honors. Ojemudia was a third-team selection by the coaches and Stone earned media honorable mention.

Earning honorable mention recognition from both coaches and media were junior defensive end Chauncey Golston and senior linebacker Kristian Welch. Senior defensive tackle Cedrick Lattimore earned honorable mention from the coaches, while the media extended honorable mention honors to senior punter Michael Sleep-Dalton.

Duncan is the first Iowa kicker to earn the conference award since its inception in 2011. Duncan is one of three finalists for the Lou Groza Award as the top kicker in the nation.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)